If you have an exact title add ti= (eg. ti=Emergency Medicine)
Find resources for Endocrinology, including eBooks, journals, databases, guidelines, education and training, websites and patient information, multimedia, and research by clicking through the blue tabs above. If you have suggestions for additional guides or require research assistance, contact us at library@monashhealth.org.
The following links and resources refer to the Monash Health Aboriginal Health Service's culturally appropriate health care and support services available for the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community through Monash Health.
Monash Health Aboriginal Health Service - provides culturally appropriate healthcare and support services to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people at all stages of their journey through Monash Health. Aboriginal Health Team, Aboriginal Hospital Help Aboriginal health – community based services can be accessed for support.
Monash Health Policies, Procedures, National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards - Monash Health has a number of policies and procedures that ensure all Monash Health employees are meeting the needs of Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander people.
Aboriginal Organisations - Monash Health partners and works with a number of Aboriginal organisations to ensure Aboriginal people are able to stay well in community. Our Aboriginal Health Service has an in-depth knowledge of the services available to Aboriginal clients and often work alongside the treating team to ensure the client is well supported. Organisations include:
Monash Health Reconciliation Action Plan - Our vision for reconciliation is a Monash Health community that welcomes unity between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and other Australians to create an environment of collaboration, respect and support. We work with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities and Aboriginal Health Services to lead the way in reconciliation and to provide culturally appropriate health services.
Click here Monash Health Reconciliation Action Plan 2020 - 2022 to view or download.
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet: provides access to an expansive range of publications, specialised resources and tools which have been created to contribute to promotion and improvement of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health and wellbeing. HealthInfoNet Includes the following websites:
Australian Indigenous Health Bulletin: Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet’s peer-reviewed electronic journal, includes reviews, publications & reports, original articles and current topics relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.
Alcohol and Other Drugs Knowledge Centre: website resource with a focus on reducing alcohol and drug use within Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.
The Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet’s Yarning Places (formerly called communities of practice) are culturally safe online spaces to communicate and share ideas on what’s working and what’s not, and to connect with colleagues from around the country. Membership to all Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet Yarning Places is free.
Explore the Yarning Places:
Lowitja Institute: The Lowitja Institute is Australia’s national institute for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health research. Lowitja aims to improve Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health and wellbeing through knowledge translation, engaging in high standard quality research and supporting health researchers from Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander background.
Map of Aboriginal and Islander health/medical services: Find Aboriginal and Islander Health/Medical Services anywhere in Australia. Click on this map to locate these services – all belong to major organisations in their respective states and territories. They are also members of National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO) the main group which represents Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services ACCHS, Australia wide.
NHMRC Ethical guidelines for research with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples - this newly updated version of these guidelines holds the framework on how all relevant ethical guidelines are related and how all parties involved are able to work together respectfully and effectively.
AIATSIS Code of Ethics - These updated guidelines replace the previous version ‘AIATSIS Guidelines for Ethical Research in Australian Indigenous Studies 2012 (GERAIS).’
CATSINaM – Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives: Currently the only organisation in Australia that represents Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander nurses and midwives. The main goal of CATSINaM’s is to increase the number of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples being recruited and retained in the professions of nursing and midwifery
LIME network - The LIME Network group focuses on ensuring quality and effectiveness of teaching and learning of Indigenous health in medical education. A major goal of the group is to sustain best practice for recruiting and keeping Indigenous medical students and trainees on their path to medical qualification and practice.
NATSIHWA - National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Worker Association. This peak, membership based organisation represents and supports Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health workers and practitioners in Australia.
ABC Indigenous Portal: delivers Australia wide coverage of Aboriginal and Indigenous Australian related news, issues and stories from all ABC mediums – TV, News & Current Affairs, iView and Radio. News in Indigenous Languages (Radio) is also featured. This is a great educational tool for keeping up with what’s happening around Australia and beyond.
NITV – National Indigenous Television: this SBS channel is specifically focused on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander news and culture. It also features sport, arts, drama and comedy programs. Much of the content is produced by Indigenous Australians.
National Indigenous Times: an Indigenous Australian news website which has a great depth of coverage relating to current news, issues and topics including education, national affairs, native title, arts and sport.
Koori Mail: this Aboriginal owned and self- funded newspaper is focused on delivering relevant, up to date news and current affairs covering issues affecting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people across the country. The Koori Mail back archives are freely available to access through AIATSIS (Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies).
First Australians on Trove: the National Library of Australia's relaunched Trove's First Australians on Trove holds a range of content relating to First Australian peoples, languages and culture. Blogs,collections (created by First Australian communities and Trove Partners) and help pages are part of this new section. Please note all care has been taken to include cultural safety on the new site.
Access patient information and leaflets created by Monash Health. Access via the intranet onsite or Citrix remotely. For more information about patient information at Monash Health, contact the patient information team.
Monash Health Patient Information
See below for a selection of patient education resources from external databases and tools.
General Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health
Family and Parenting
Mental Health
Medication
Monash Health acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land, the Wurundjeri and Boonwurrung peoples, and we pay our respects to them, their culture and their Elders past, present and future.
We are committed to creating a safe and welcoming environment that embraces all backgrounds, cultures, sexualities, genders and abilities.
