Clinical Guides: International Medical Graduates Guide: Databases

International Medical Graduates Guide

Find resources for International Medical Graduates (IMGs) at Monash Health, including eBooks, journals, databases, education and training, websites and patient information, multimedia, and research by clicking through the blue tabs above. If you have suggestions for additional guides or require research assistance, contact us at library@monashhealth.org.

Relevant library databases for infection control are listed below. You will need to login when prompted to access subscription resources.

Access Emergency This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online emergency medicine resource, providing quick diagnosis and treatment answers. Coverage date: Varies.
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
A rich education platform with eBooks, multimedia, self-assessment tools, board prep and cases. Coverage date: Varies.
AMH: Australian Medicines Handbook This link opens in a new window
Advice about medicines and interactions searchable by drug name or therapeutic topic. Coverage date: 2021
Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
Elsevier platform of eBooks, journals and clinical support tools such as guidelines and calculators. Continuously updated.
Clinicians Health Channel This link opens in a new window
Victorian Health Department resources for public hospitals. Register for an account with your Monash Health email address. Coverage date: Varies.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of Cochrane databases containing high-quality evidence including Cochrane reviews and RCTs. Updated every 3 months.
HealthPathways Melbourne This link opens in a new window
HealthPathways offers clinicians locally agreed information to make the right decisions, together with patients, at the point of care.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
An extensive database of peer-reviewed literature provided by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Covers 1946-present.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
An extensive database of peer-reviewed literature provided by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Covers 1946-present.
MIMS Online This link opens in a new window
Medicine information including product information (PI), pill ID, consumer medicines information (CMI) and drug interactions. Continously updated.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Freely available database from the US National Library of Medicine (NLM). Covers 1946-present.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based point of care tool for decision support with continuously updated expert opinion. Continuously updated.

ClinicalKey calculators:

Calculate by QxMD provides access to more than 400 clinical calculators to support clinical decision making. Calculators are listed alphabetically (eg. APGAR for rapid newborn assessment to Warfarin bleeding risk) as well as by clinical area (eg. Addiction Medicine to Vascular Surgery). Favourite calculators can be highlighted for quick future reference after creating a free account.

MDCalc is a freely available calculator reference tool is for medical calculators, equations, scores and guidelines. More information about this tool is available on our Apps and Podcasts page. The following video provides a one minute overview of the MDCalc app and resource.

The Library provides access to databases and mobile apps for high quality information and authoritative evidence, ensuring timely and effective access to medical and health care information.

Browse all Databases, access user guides, and view the access status of all databases and library products.

A-Z Databases and Apps