Search in Cochrane

Simple searches can be conducted directly from the Cochrane Library homepage. For more information about search functions in Cochrane click here.

• Advanced Search
  • Advanced Search is recommended for complex searches. Compose search using keywords or include MeSH terms using the buttons on the right hand side. Use Limits to specify publication type and year. A Search Help function is on the upper right hand side.
• MeSH Search
  • Search using Medical Subject Headings directly. Enter search terms and enter subheading and qualifiers from drop down box. A Search Help function is on the upper right hand side.
  • For more information watch this video about MeSh searching in Cochrane.
• PICO Search 
  • Search using PICO directly. Include search terms one line at a  time and include population, interventions, comparison or outcome on the right hand side. A Search Help function is on the upper right hand side.

The below video outlines how to search the Cochrane Library.

Viewing Results

Cochrane Library searches multiple databases simultaneously.

Cochrane Reviews and Cochrane Protocols can be viewed in full-text by clicking on the title. Cochrane Trials comprise abstract and citation information for clinical trials. There is no full-text, as these are usually published in journals. A link to the journal article may be provided.

For more information see the Cochrane Library Training Hub.

Exporting Results

Once you have gotten the results from a search, export the citation information from a single article or from search results. Citation export files can be used with the following reference management programs:

• EndNote
• RefWorks
• Mendeley
• Zotero
• Sciwheel
• Reference Manager (later versions)
• ProCite (later versions)
• Spreadsheet software, including Microsoft Excel

For more information about how to export citations click here.

Cochrane Library provides tools to enhance healthcare knowledge and decision-making. Based on systematic reviews, clinical trials and worldwide research. 

• Cochrane Reviews
  • Cochrane Reviews are the key feature of the Cochrane Library. They are authoritative, high quality systematic reviews on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions. Each review uses systematic methods to synthesise the evidence available from previous empirical research in order to answer a research question and ultimately inform healthcare decision making. Reviews are prepared according to methods outlined in the Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions.
• Cochrane Trials
  • The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. Records are taken from bibliographic databases and  derived from other published and unpublished sources. Including trials from; Pubmed, Embase, CINAHL, ClinicalTrials.gov and WHO's International Clinical Trials Registry Platform. 
• Cochrane Clinical Answers
  • Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform point-of-care decision-making. ach CCA contains a clinical question, a short answer, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane Review deemed most relevant to practicing healthcare professionals.

Cochrane Library provides resources to help with further learning. With different types of resources including podcasts, clinical summaries.

• Cochrane Podcasts
  • Cochrane experts and review authors explain the latest evidence in short (5 minutes or less) plain language episodes.
• Cochrane Clinical Answers 
  • Clinical summaries of information from Cochrane Reviews, providing health-care providers a condensed overview designed to inform decision making.
• Cochrane Journal Club 
  • Monthly journal club focusing on a recent Cochrane Review, aimed at researchers, practitioners and trainees.

Monash Health Library provides educational resources, group training, webinars and individual consultations on evidence based practice including guidance on literature searching, appraising and managing search results.

Can’t attend our live webinars?

• The library has a selection of recorded webinars available in Latte.
• Consider requesting group training for your team at a time that suits you. 

Custom training sessions can be arranged to fit with a team meeting or existing professional development schedule. Email library@monashhealth.org for more information.