Access BMJ Learning here.

BMJ Learning modules are designed to help you learn at every stage of your career. It is free for Monash Health employees and includes hundreds of interactive, peer-reviewed modules, written by experts from BMJ. BMJ Learning is accredited by the Australian College of Nursing and the Royal Australasian College of Physicians. Earn CME credit for completing courses. 

Click here for instructions on how to register for an account.

Recommended resources:

• Understanding consent - 1 hour
• Working in partnership with patients - 1 hour
• Confidentiality and disclosure: Your guide to handling patient information - 30 mins
• Domestic violence and abuse: Asking and responding to women - 30 mins
• Stroke: a focused neurological examination within a subacute setting - 1 hour
• Ask the consultant: Old age psychiatry - 1 hour
• Contraception in young people under the age of 18 - 1 hour

Families Associations

• Melbourne Mums Group: Allows mothers to seek advices and ask questions regarding parenting.
• Kidspot: An online platform for patents to sharing regarding parenting.
• Australian Institute of Family Studies
• Conflict Resolution Network
• Families Australia
• Family Relationships Online
• Family Services - Reach Out
• raisingchildren.net.au - the Australian Parenting Website
• Relationships Australia
• Safe Steps - 24/7 Family Violence Response Centre
• The Orange Door - support with the care of children in family violence situations

• Safe + Equal (formerly the Domestic Violence Victoria and Domestic Violence Resource Centre Victoria) - support, resources, and training

Healthy Aging Associations

• Aged and Community Service Australia
• Alzheimer's Association Australia
• Australian Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission
• Australian and New Zealand Society for Geriatric Medicine
• Australian Association of Gerontology
• Council on the Ageing (COTA) Victoria
• Dementia Australia
• My Aged Care
• National Aged Care Alliance
• National Centre for Healthy Ageing
• Services Australia - Ageing
• Victorian Geriatric Medicine Training Program

Youth Services Associations

• Big Brothers Big Sisters of Australia
• Centre for Multicultural Youth
• headspace - I'm a young person
• Reach Out
• Reach Out Toolbox
• Victorian Aboriginal Child Care Agency (VACCA) - Youth Services and Programs
• Victorian Councils - Youth Services
• Victorian Government - Youth Central
• Victorian Government - Youth Drugs and Alcohol Advice (YoDAA)
• YMCA - Youth Services
• Youth Positive Pathways (services in City of Casey and Cardinia Shire)
• Youth Programs
• Youth Support + Advocacy Service

Maternal and Child Health Associations

• Royal Women’s Hospital Pregnancy and Breastfeeding Medicines Guide (PBMG) 
  • Quick reference guide for healthcare professionals that provides practical and unbiased specialised information on medicine use in pregnancy and breastfeeding.
• Australian Breastfeeding Association
  • Provides information for health professionals and consumers (including on galactagogues).

• Clinicians Health Channel
  • Information on vaccination of infants and children and catch-up calculator by Department of Health, Australian Government
• Better Health Channel 
  • Immunisation schedule for Victorian babies and young children (from birth to 4 yrs of age), pre-immunisation checklist, side effects after immunisation and how to manage them.
• Australian Immunisation Handbook, Department of Health, Australian Government
  • Table listing vaccines that are not routinely recommended in pregnancy: inactivated bacterial vaccines
• Melbourne Vaccine Education Centre
  • Information on maternal vaccination during pregnancy and Monash Health immunisation resources (patient information sheet) and Monash Health Immunisation Service
• AusVaxSafety, National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS)
  • Provides data on vaccine safety for various cohorts.
• Pregnancy, birth and baby support services and hotlines 

  • Provided by the Federal Department of Health and Aged Care.

• raisingchildren.net.au - Autism: a range of resources on topics such as behaviour, communication, development, and the NDIS.
• HelpGuide: an American non-for-profit organisation provides information on early sign and symptoms of ASD.
• Autism Spectrum Australia: provides information on support services, fact sheets, and more.
• Autism Awareness Australia: offers resources including a video library, a toolkit for the first year after diagnosis, and an Autism Safety Series of webinars.
• raisingchildren.net.au - Newborn Safety 
  • Covers safety issues and procedures for newborns (0-3 months), e.g. CPR, home and pet safety, bath and water safety.
• Product Safety Australia, Australian competition & Consumer Commission, Australian Government
  • Safety standards of products for babies and children. The Commission releases details on recalls, for which it offers email updates. 
• HealthDirect - Pregnancy
  • Consumer information and resources including a symptom checker.
• The Royal Women's Hospital
  • Health information for consumers on a wide range of topics related to maternity and childbirth.

Mental Health Associations

• Beyond Blue
  • Well-known mental health organisation offering resources such as translated mental health information, plus counselling support via phone or online chat.
• Mental health and suicide prevention
  • Summary of support and resources from the Federal Department of Health and Aged Care.
• Mental Health Victoria
  • Peak body for mental health and wellbeing in Victoria, offering training such as Mental Health First Aid.
• Beyond Blue - Pregnancy and New Parents 
  • Information for new and expectant parents, including maternal mental health and adjusting to parenthood.
• PANDA 
  • Includes guidance on perinatal anxiety and depression and support, resources for health professionals (such as free online learning courses) and more.
• raisingchildren.net.au
  • Information on health and wellbeing during pregnancy, antenatal depression and postnatal depression and mental health issues affecting children with disability.

For more mental health resources see:

Mental Health Clinical Resource Guide

Psychology Clinical Resource Guide

Psychiatry Clinical Resource Guide

Multicultural Communities Associations

• Asylum Seekers Centre: Support for people living in the community who are seeking asylum.
• Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet: Evidence to inform practice and policy in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.
• Centre for Culture, Ethnicity & Health: Resources and training for health professionals, and supports and services for consumers.
• Embrace Multicultural Mental Health: Online resource to evaluate and enhance cultural responsiveness.
• Foundation House: Trauma-informed publications and resources on Refugee Health.
• Health Translations: Extensive library of consumer health information in multiple languages and dialects.
• Refugee Council of Australia: Information for those seeking asylum.
• Victorian Refugee Health Network: Facilitates coordination and collaboration amongst health and community services.
• Victorian Transcultural Mental Health: Supports Mental Health in diverse groups.

Black Dog Institute Podcast for Health Professionals

Black Dog Institute is a global pioneer in the identification, prevention and treatment of mental illness and the promotion of well-being. 

Community is Our Middle Name

A podcast from Grampians Community Health.

North Richmond Community Centre Podcast

Celebrating the lives and achievements of the public housing community.

Sydney Sexual Health Centre

Sydney Sexual Health Centre is a community-oriented centre offering specialist expertise in STIs and HIV.

Monash Health Library provides educational resources, group training, webinars and individual consultations on evidence based practice including guidance on literature searching, appraising and managing search results.

Can’t attend our live webinars?

• The library has a selection of recorded webinars available in Latte.
• Consider requesting group training for your team at a time that suits you. 

Custom training sessions can be arranged to fit with a team meeting or existing professional development schedule. Email library@monashhealth.org for more information.