On this page:

1. Export from Database

You can import citation(s) into EndNote directly from databases you are using by looking for the export function. This is the easiest way to add citations to your EndNote library. 

Have your EndNote library open on your desktop. Run a search on a database such as Medline, Clinical Key, ProQuest etc.

1. In the database, select the articles you wish to import and click on the export icon 
2. Choose EndNote as the export format. 
3. Choose the level of citation you require (title and abstract, full reference etc.).

The reference(s) will automatically be added to your EndNote Library.

The following is an example from the Ovid platform. The export icon would look slightly different in each database.

2. Manual Input

You can manually add references into your EndNote library if the reference is not available online to import. To create a new reference: 

Open EndNote on your Desktop

1. Click References > New Reference.  This will open a new window.
2. Select citation fields you wish to include in new reference:
   • Reference type
   • Author - Important note: To ensure the citation is generated correctly, the names of the authors must be entered only one per line
   • Year 
   • Title
   • etc.
3. To save the citation, simply close the window.. Be careful that you only close the New Reference window  and NOT the EndNote window.

Tip: Manually adding authors:

• Enter Author Surname followed by a comma and then first name (or you can enter initials with a full stop after each initial)
• Enter only one author on each line
• Enter corporate authors (i.e. name of an organisation) with a comma at the end of the name

Tip: Add tags:

• Enter 'tags' or keywords to the Notes field. This enables you to search for references with EndNote via the 'tags'  that you have assigned to references. 

Important: 

• Manually enter fields how you expect to see them in the bibliography. EndNote will carry over any spelling mistakes and capitalisation that your enter. 

3. Import PDF(s)

You can create references in EndNote by direct importing PDF files from your PC. This can be done in two ways: by importing a single PDF file or multiple PDFs in a folder (including subfolders).

3.1. Import Single PDF File

1. Select File > Import > File
2. At the Import File text box, click on Choose, to select a PDF from your computer
3. At the Import Option text box, select PDF from the drop-down menu
4. At Duplicates Option select from  'Import All' - "Discard Duplicates" -  "Import into Duplicates Library" 
5. Click >  Import

Your selected file will be imported with PDF file attached to the reference

3.2. Import Multiple PDFs from Folder 

To import multiple PDFs into your EndNote library: 

1. Select File > Import > Folder
2. Choose the folder that contains PDFs
3. Tick box Include files in subfolders if required 
4. Tick box Create a Group Set for this import to import PDFs as a group into EndNote Library
5. At the Import Option text box, select PDF from the drop-down menu
6. At Duplicates Option select from  "Import All' - "Discard Duplicates" -  "Import into Duplicates Library" 
7. Click >  Import

4. EndNote Click - plug in

EndNote Click (formally Kopernio) is a free browser plugin that aids access to full-text and open access journal articles on the web. 
First you will need to add the extension to your browser:

• Download EndNote Click for Chrome
• Download EndNote Click for Firefox
• Download EndNote Click for Edge

You will be prompted to create a free account which you can customise to download PDFs, export to EndNote and hold references in "MY Locker".

Once "EndNote Click" is installed you simply have to perform searches as per normal on your browser.

If a resource has an accessible PDF a pop up icon will appear. Click this  to open full text and the "My Locker" portal.

This has a variety of useful functions:

1. Export reference with PDF to EndNote Desktop
2. Export to EndNote Online (see different tab above for more information)
3. Download PDF to local drive
4. Get citation
5. Add tags that will be exported with reference to aid searching within your EndNote library. 

IMPORTANT!! - When exporting PDF from 'EndNote Click ' the first time:

• You may get a pop up window requesting additional permissions > Allow

• When exporting to EndNote desktop top the first time the PDF will download separately from the reference details. To ensure reference AND PDF always export  together > click the little arrow at the downloading file (bottom left corner when downloading). Then  select "Always open files of this type". You only have to do this once, it will then be automatic.

5. Google Scholar

To export references directly from a Google Scholar search to EndNote library:

Configure Google Scholar

1. Go to the Google Scholar home page at http://scholar.google.com/
2. Click < "three horizontal bars" in the upper left-hand corner.
3. Click > Settings > Bibliography Manager
4. Select "Show links to import citations into - EndNote

Search results in Google Scholar will now give the option to "Import into EndNote"

!!! Note: Google scholar citation fields such as author, year, title, etc. may have errors so check when adding to EndNote

6. EndNote Database Search

Searching online databases is a feature of EndNote; however, we do not recommend that you use EndNote to search databases. It is not as comprehensive as searching databases directly and can return restrictive results that are difficult to appraise.

If you wish to use EndNote's system for searching databases: Open an EndNote library:

1. On the left hand panel choose a specific database to begin your search. For example, PubMed
2. Use the search panel to formulate your search (e.g. author, journal, keyword) then press > "Search"
3. Select the results you want. Note: First 25 results will be shown by year. "Retrieve" additional results by clicking the required number. 
4. Click  symbol in top right hand corner to add selected results to library.

1. Enable Full Text

This allows full text to be uploaded to EndNote from Monash Health Library subscription journals and databases. You need to enable the below URL Paths to use the “Find Full Text” function in EndNote.

Open EndNote on your Desktop

1. Go to Edit > Preferences
2. Choose "Find Full Text" from EndNote Preferences window
3. Enter the Monash Health OpenURL path:            http://monash.worldcat.org/openurlresolver
4. Enter the Monash Health Authenticated URL:     http://monash.idm.oclc.org/login?url=    
5. Click > Apply then > OK

2. Find Full Text

Open EndNote on your Desktop

• Highlight the references that you would like to obtain the full-text
• Go to References > Find Full Text > Find Full Text
• EndNote will search for full text and add to reference - a paper clip icon next to reference indicates full text attachment

3. Shortcut to Full Text

Open EndNote on your desktop and highlight the records you want to search for full text. Click on the Icon -  Found at the top right of library

EndNote Training, 2020, In action: EndNote 20 (Windows) Find Full Text, YouTube, 3 November

Using EndNote to remove duplicate records

1. Before you start - BACKUP!

• Before removing duplicates. Click 'File' > 'Compressed Library' (.enlx) and save file in your desktop or drive.

2. Find Duplicates in EndNote

• Click on 'References' > 'Find Duplicates'
• A window will pop-up with 2 columns allowing you to compare records one at a time for similarity and choosing to “Keep This Record”. This is the slow method.
• Recommended Method -  Click on 'References' > 'Find Duplicates' then click the 'cancel button' in the pop-up window. This will create a temporary ‘Duplicate References’ folder . The ‘Duplicate References’ folder shows a list of highlighted records identified by EndNote,  based on the duplicate preferences you set up earlier​​

3. Scan the list to check they are indeed duplicates (this is not a perfect system and needs some oversight) – same page number is a good indication. Drag all the highlighted duplicates to the trash folder. You will see your 'All reference' folder number go down and the 'trash' folder number go up. 
 

4. You may want to adjust your de-duplication preferences in EndNote to compare specific fields, e.g. just author, title etc.This is less precise but still allows allows EndNote to search for duplicates. 

5. When undertaking a systematic review, you should record the number of duplicates as part of the search process.

• Record the total number of records in trash, this is your number of duplicates.
• Record the total number of records left in ‘All References’. This is your final number of results (no need to record from which database at this stage).
• It is recommended that you move the duplicate records that are in the trash to a NEW library instead of deleting them. Just in case you want to refer to them, or check something in future.

6. BACKUP EndNote Library AGAIN! You can never backup enough!

See this process in action: 

University of Calgary (2018) EndNote: Identify and Remove Internal Duplicates [YouTube]  6m42s

1.  Create Groups

There are 4 types of types of groups that can help manage your EndNote library. To create, edit or delete groups right click on the 'My Groups' tab on left side, or use the Group tab in top ribbon. 

1.1. Simple group:

• Right click My Group and select Create Group. Type the name in the box and click enter.
• Highlight the citations and right click to drag them into your new group.

1.2. Smart group: for receiving automatic updates as you add more references to your library that match the pre-set search.

• Right click My Group and select Create Smart Group. A window will appear
• Name the Smart Group
• Choose the fields that you want to be included for the group. In the example below all references that have the word 'library' or 'training' in any citation filed will automatically be added this this smart group.

         Tip: Smart Groups have an icon of a magnifying glass next to them 

1.3. Group Set:  allows you to group together any of the groups (basic or smart groups) you create. Great for sub-topics!

• Right click My Group and select Create Smart Group. Type a name in the box and click enter. .
• You can drag-and-drop any existing group into your new group set, and/or create new groups in this new group set.
• A  group set name is identified with a down or right arrow icon. 

For example, a Group Set could be called 'Medical Education' which could contain sub groups about 'clinical skills' and 'exam practice'

1.4. Combination / From Groups: for combining two or more groups into one group in order to compare or contrast the contents. 

To build a combined group, you need to build at least two groups. When you have 2 groups:

• Right click My Group and select Create From Group. A window will appear
• Name the Group
• Pick 1 group from each pull down list respectively and combine them with your preferred Boolean operator AND, OR or NOT > click   "Create".
• You can include more than two groups in a combined group by pressing the plus icon to add more groups. 
• This video offers a brief overview of creating a combined group. 

2. Editing multiple references

If you want to update multiple citations at the same time (eg. adding a retrieval date, note or label), the best time to do it is when you have just imported them (in the ‘Imported References’ window) or in a Group.

To edit a field in multiple citations:

• Highlight the relevant references 
• Go to Library > Change/Move/Copy Fields…The Change/Move/Copy Fields pop-up box will appear

Example: Change 'Access Date' on multiple references

• In the Select a field… drop-down menu, choose ‘Access Date’
• Click Replace whole field with:
• Enter a date and click OK.
• Click OK to confirm that you want to change that field in all references
• A pop-up will inform you that all changes have been made. Click OK.

1. Share entire library

You can share your designated EndNote Sync library with up to 100 other EndNote desktop users, and assign access rights individually for each user. The quick video below provides an overview of Sharing in EndNote 20 (for Windows and macOS users).

The below video outlines how to share an EndNote library.

2. Share group only

Share a specific set of references from your EndNote library with up to 1,000 colleagues. Please note group sharees cannot view file attachments. This video highlights the process of sharing a custom group within your designated EndNote Sync library.

3. Travelling Library

• A "travelling library" refers to the EndNote citations that are embedded in a Word document. As each formatted citation in your Word document is saved with field codes that embed reference data in the document, you can share your word document without having to send the whole EndNote library, and you can also collaborate with other authors on a paper without each author having the same EndNote library.
• A travelling library may be created if someone emails you a document with formatted EndNote references. 
• EndNote uses Microsoft Word's field codes to communicate with the document and create a formatted in text citation and bibliography. If these field codes are missing in the Word document, then EndNote will not be able to communicate with the document and hence, EndNote will not be able to detect any citations.

To confirm if you are using a travelling library

• Select Edit & Manage Citations from the EndNote toolbar in Word and you will see the name of the library being used.
• OR
• To test this, open a Word document and hold down the Alt key and press F9 [Alt+F9] and check if the citations in the Word document change and show the field codes. If the field codes are present, the citation should now appear as {ADDIN EN.CITE <EndNote><Cite><Author>.....}. If the citations do not change, then the citations in the word document are in a Plain Text Format and it would not be possible to export the references into EndNote.

Exporting Word's Travelling library to an EndNote library

1. Open the word document.
2. From the EndNote tab in word, select Export to EndNote, then select Export Traveling Library. From the Tools menu, go to the EndNote submenu, and then select Export Traveling Library (Mac).

       3. On the Export Traveling Library dialog, select either:

•   An existing EndNote library: Select a library from the drop-down list of available libraries, or Browse to locate a library.
•   A new EndNote library: You will be prompted to name and save the new library.

Note: The Traveling Library does not contain Notes, Abstracts, Figures, or Captions. When you use the Export/Import Traveling Library commands, the exported references are renumbered and do not retain their original reference numbers.

Import Travelling library from within EndNote library

There is an alternate way to copy references from your Word document to an EndNote library.

• Open both your Word document and the EndNote library.
• Then, in EndNote, go to the Tools menu, then the Cite While You Write submenu, and select Import Traveling Library.
• The imported citations are found in your EndNote library's left navigation bar - category 'Document' 

Tip: Export travelling library to a new EndNote library, so you can review the records before adding them to an existing library.

EndNote's Cite While You Write (CWYW) function enables you to insert in-text citations in a Word document while simultaneously creating a bibliography for that document:

1. Getting Started

In Microsoft Word open your document and look for the EndNote tab in the ribbon

• In Windows: To add or reinstate the EndNote tab in Word on Windows devices follow these instructions: Windows: Install Word CWYW Toolbar. If tab still does not appear you may need to make EndNote and MS Word compatible on Windows. Follow these instructions: Windows: Install Word CWYW
• In Mac: To add or reinstate the EndNote tab in Word on Mac devices, or make EndNote and MS Word compatible on Mac. Follow these instructions: Mac: CWYW tools in Microsoft Word Troubleshooting guide

2. Referencing Style

Citations in your document will appear as in-text citations in the body of the writing and also as the reference list or bibliography at the end of the document. The referencing output style is the way citations appear in the document, for example APA, Harvard or Vancouver styles. 

2.1. Changing Referencing Style

There are two ways to change output styles in EndNote.

Method 1. Open EndNote on your Desktop

• Go to Tools > Output Styles
• Select your preferred style
• If your favourite style is not listed there, choose Open Style Manager

Method 2. Open EndNote on your Desktop

• Open a reference Summary/Edit box
• At the bottom select the drop down box with output style listed
• Select your preferred style or 'Select Another Style'

Tip: EndNote has access to many common styles but if you cannot find the right one for you then use this Style Finder.

2.2. Changing Referencing Style in Word

• Open your MS Word document 
• Click the EndNote tab on top ribbon
• Select your preferred output style
• If your favourite style is not listed there, choose Select Another Style

Note: All references in your word document will automatically be changed to the new style selected

3. Inserting Citations

There are two ways to insert citations in a Word document

        Method 1: Insert selected citation(s)

• Open EndNote on your desktop and highlight the reference(s) you would like to insert
• Open Word and place your cursor where you would like to insert the citation(s).
• Click the EndNote tab on top ribbon and click > Insert Citation > then >  Insert Selected Citation(s).
• The in-text citation(s) that you highlighted in the EndNote library will be inserted into your Word document and the full citation(s) will be inserted at the end of your document as the bibliography.

        Method 2: Insert citation(s)

• Open Word and place your cursor where you would like to insert the citation(s).
• Click the EndNote tab on top ribbon and click > Insert Citation > then > Insert Citation
• Search for required reference in search box. Use keywords or author to search and click > Find 
• Select required reference and click > Insert. The default format is displayed as (Author, Year) but use drop down arrow to select preferred display format, for example Author (year).
• The in-text citation(s) will be inserted into your Word document and the full citation(s) will be inserted at the end of your document as the bibliography.

4. Editing/Deleting Citations

Always use the Edit and Manage Citation function in the EndNote ribbon in Word when editing or removing citations from your document. This is because EndNote inserts hidden formatting that if altered may corrupt the document.  

• Hover over the in-text citation(s) you want to edit, it will show as grey which indicates that it is formatted to your EndNote library.
• Open Word and click the EndNote tab on top ribbon. 
• Click > Edit & Manage Citation(s). A box will appear.

You have a variety of functions within this area:

• Add page numbers to a citation
• Enter prefix text  for information you want to appear before the reference (e.g. prefix text, Author, Year).
• Enter suffix text for information you want to appear after the reference (e.g. Author, Year, suffix text).
• Change format to display from (Author, Year) to Author (year).
• Remove citation
• Edit Library: This opens your EndNote library for a specific reference so that you can edit directly. This is useful if you have a spelling mistake or want to alter anything in the citation fields with having to open and close your EndNote separately. 

EndNote Online, (or EndNote Basic) is a free version that you can use on any device with an internet connection.You can create a standalone EndNote online account, or sync your online account to your EndNote desktop library.

On this page:

1. Create an online account

 1.1. Via web browser:

1. Go to http://my.endnote.com
2. Click on 'Register'
3. Follow the prompts to create your new account with your Monash Health (or other affiliated institute's) email address.

1.2. Via EndNote Desktop:

1. Open EndNote on your Desktop
2. Click > Edit > Preferences > Sync > Enable Sync
3. If you don't already have an EndNote online account click > Sign Up
4. Follow the prompts to create your account
5. You can now open your browser and login to your online account -  http://my.endnote.com

Note: You must complete the 'Via EndNote Desktop' steps if you want to sync your desktop library to your online account.. 

2. Sync EndNote Online to your EndNote Desktop 

You can also Sync your desktop and online libraries. 

Important!! It is recommended you make a backup copy before starting synchronisation.

• Open EndNote on your Desktop
• Click on  in the top left hand side or go to Tools >  Sync
• Click on Sync icon 

Tips!!

• You can only Sync one of your EndNote Desktop libraries to your online account. The one that you have "Enabled" 
• EndNote Online or EndNote Desktop are a mirror of each other and both versions reflect changes you have made in either. EG. If you have added references into EndNote Desktop and added different references into EndNote Online, all references that you have added will be present in both versions once you have Synced. If you edit or delete a reference from one account the reference will be edited or deleted in the other once you have synced.
• All references and groups will be synchronized, BUT group sets, smart groups, and combination (from) groups will not be displayed in your online library.

The following quick reference guides outline the steps for configuring EndNote Sync (for Windows and macOS).

• EndNote 20 (Windows) guide: library syncing

• EndNote 20 (macOS) guide: library syncing

3. Add References to Online Library

3.1. Add manually

In EndNote Online  - Click the Collect tab > New reference

1. Select the reference type from the drop down menu
2. Fill in required information for your style. 
3. Click Save 
4. There is no Preview function - you can only see how your record displays when the reference list is created.

3.2. Import a file (e.g. PDF or RIS)

In EndNote Online  - Click the Collect tab > Import References

1. Click choose file and find the file you want to import from your hard drive
2. Select the Import Option - this is relevant when importing a file that you has exported from a specific database 
3. Select the group for imported references
4. Click Import.

3.3. From a database 

Export references from a research databases (such as Medline; Embase; Cochrane etc.) to EndNote Online.

1. In the research database - Mark selected records 
2. Look for a Save or Export option in the database
3. If given options, choose full records and EndNote format e.g. RIS 
4. Save the file to your Downloads folder (or somewhere you can find it)
5. In EndNote Online - click Collect  - Import References
6. Select the database filter to allow your records to be imported correctly.

4. Export your EndNote Online library 

You can export your library as a file that can be uploaded to an EndNote desktop or emailed to yourself or a colleague. 

In EndNote Online - Click the Format tab > Export References

1. Select the references you want to export - can be a specific group, quick list or 'All references in my library' 
2. Select the export style:
   • Choose Refman (RIS) export if you will be uploading to EndNote Desktop 
3. Click either SAVE or E-MAIL

In EndNote Desktop, click File > Import. Find the RIS file that you have just created and references will be added to your EndNote desktop library 

5. Share your Online Library 

In EndNote Online -  Select Organize > Manage My Groups 

1. Click the Manage Sharing button next to the group you’d like to share
2. Enter the email addresses of the people with whom you’d like to share*
3. Choose whether to give your colleagues Read only access or Read & Write access**
4. Click Apply

Note:
*You can only share with people who have an EndNote online account and you must use their account email address
**Read-only access allows designated users to view references, use them in Word documents, or copy them to their library
**Read & Write access allows the designated user to do everything as read-only access and editing, adding, or deleting references

6. Cite While You Write - using EndNote Online

You can enter citations and a bibliography in a word document using your EndNote Online library.  However, you cannot use this feature simultaneously with both applications.  Follow these steps to set up your word document so that it will connect with your EndNote Online library: 

1. In Word, click on the EndNote tab in your top ribbon
2. Select Preferences – a box will appear
3. Click on the Application > Select EndNote Online
4. Enter your EndNote online login details. NB: You may need to enter the online subscription URL -  https://my.endnote.com
5. Insert citations to your word document as you normally would from the EndNote ribbon

!!! When you return to your EndNote desktop, repeat these steps but chose application - EndNote 

Monash Health Library provides educational resources, group training, webinars and individual consultations on evidence based practice including guidance on literature searching, appraising and managing search results.

Can’t attend our live webinars?

• The library has a selection of recorded webinars available in Latte.
• Consider requesting group training for your team at a time that suits you. 

Custom training sessions can be arranged to fit with a team meeting or existing professional development schedule. Email library@monashhealth.org for more information.