BMJ Learning Courses are designed to help you learn at every stage of your career. It is free for Monash Health employees and includes hundreds of interactive, peer reviewed learning modules, written by experts from BMJ. BMJ Learning is accredited by the Australian College of Nursing and the Royal Australasian College of Physicians. Earn CME credit for completing courses. 

Click here for instructions on how to register for an account.

Recommended resources:

• Palliative care during the out of hours period (1.5 hours)
• Clinical pointers: Palliative care in non-malignant disease (1 hour)
• Hospital presentations: palliative and end of life care (1 hour)
• Clinical points: Palliative care in the community (1 hour)

The End-of-Life Essentials Project offers free peer-reviewed online education modules on health care at the end of life in acute hospitals for nurses, doctors and allied health professionals. The content of the modules has been developed from the ACSQHC National End-of-life Consensus Statement. 

Access Online

Australian Associations

• Palliative Care Australia
  • The national peak body for palliative care.Palliative Care Australia represents all those who work towards high quality palliative care for all Australians.
• Palliative Care Victoria
  • The peak body for palliative care and end of life care. PCV contributes to national policies and initiatives in collaboration with the other state and territory palliative care peak bodies.
• Cancer Council - Palliative Care
  • Useful for both patient and professional information surrounding palliative and end-of-life care in the context of cancer.
• Australia New Zealand Society of Palliative Medicine
  • ANZSPM facilitates professional development and support for its members, promotes the practice of Palliative Medicine and advocates for those who work in the field of palliative medicine.
• Palliative Care Nurses Australia
  • A member organisation that provides Australian nurses with advocacy, representation and professional development. 
• palliAGED (Palliative Care Aged Care Evidence)
  • A palliative care evidence and practice information resource for the Australian aged care sector. Providing support for health and care practitioners as well as resource developers, the website also provides trustworthy information for older Australians, their families and friends.
• Care Search (Palliative Care Knowledge Network)
  • Provides palliative care evidence and tools for health professionals.
• Palliative Care Consortia
  • Brings together senior management representatives and clinicians from all healthcare services and clinicians from all healthcare services. Cortiums are required to provide a report to the Department of Health and Human Services each year. 

International Associations

• American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine (AAHPM)
  • Their core mission is to advance hospice and palliative medicine through enhancing learning, cultivating knowledge and innovation, strengthening workforce and advocating for public policy.
• Center to Advance Palliative Care
  • An American organisation that provides toolkits, networking, and national experts.
• Hospice & Palliative Nurses Association
  • An American association that provides education, advocacy, leadership, and research. 
• Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association
  • Includes public policy, public education and awareness. 

GeriPal

A geriatrics and palliative care podcast for every health care professional. GeriPal invites the brightest minds in geriatrics, hospice, and palliative care to talk about the topics that you care most about, ranging from recently published research in the field to controversies that keep us up at night. 

Thursdays@3 by Palliative Care Australia

Aimed at those who work in palliative care, going through palliative, are bereaved or those going through a life limiting illness, this podcast talks to experts  from the field and people living and working at the end of life.

Monash Health Library provides educational resources, group training, webinars and individual consultations on evidence based practice including guidance on literature searching, appraising and managing search results.

Can’t attend our live webinars?

• The library has a selection of recorded webinars available in Latte.
• Consider requesting group training for your team at a time that suits you. 

Custom training sessions can be arranged to fit with a team meeting or existing professional development schedule. Email library@monashhealth.org for more information.