Access a range of 3D-animated procedural videos in BMJ Best Practice. These short guides show you how to perform common medical and surgical techniques, and include supporting information such as equipment needed, contraindications, indications, possible complications and aftercare advice. Videos are included on ascitic drainage, aspiration and injection, catheter insertion, insertion of intercostal drains, nasogastric tube insertion, ventilation, suturing techniques and tracheal intubation.

Recommended Resources:

• Psychiatry case reports
• Psychiatry clinical overviews

BMJ Learning Courses are designed to help you learn at every stage of your career. It is free for Monash Health employees and includes hundreds of interactive, peer reviewed learning modules, written by experts from BMJ. BMJ Learning is accredited by the Australian College of Nursing and the Royal Australasian College of Physicians. Earn CME credit for completing courses. 

Click here for instructions on how to register for an account.

Recommended resources:

• Guideline focus: psychosis and schizophrenia (NICE) - 60min
• Ask the consultant: Old age psychiatry - 60min

ClinicalKey is an Elsevier platform of eBooks, journals and clinical support tools such as guidelines and calculators. ClinicalKey also has a variety of procedural videos and image collections. Click here for instructions on how to access ClinicalKey.

Recommended resources:

• Psychiatry clinical overviews
• Psychiatric themed videos
• Psychiatric themed images 

Evidentia Learning offers free eLearning modules in the field of child maltreatment. These modules are developed in partnership with experts and includes topics such as trauma informed care, child sex trafficking, child abuse and neglect. 

Sign up with a free account to access the modules.

The Library has created Reading Lists for surgical fellowship examinations. These reading lists are based off the The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists (RANZCP) Fellowship Program examinations, particularly the Written Examinations, and include books, eBooks, journals, articles, and web resources. Access below. 

Recommended reading lists:

Psychiatry Examination

All in the Mind

Hosted by Lynne Malcolm, All In The Mind is ABC RN's weekly podcast looking into the mental universe, the mind, brain and behaviour — everything from addiction to artificial intelligence.

Psych Matters - podcast

Psych Matters is an informative and educational podcast by The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists. Psych Matters provides regular interesting topics for psychiatrists, psychiatry trainees and others with an interest in psychiatry

Psychiatry Unbound podcast

Psychiatry Unbound is APA Publishing's Books podcast, hosted by APA Books Editor-in-Chief, Laura Roberts, M.D. It offers the opportunity to hear the voices behind the most prominent psychiatric scholarship in the field today.

PsychEd: educational psychiatry podcast

This podcast is written and produced by psychiatry residents at the University of Toronto and is aimed at medical students and residents. Listeners will learn about fundamental and more advanced topics in psychiatry as our resident team explore these topics with world-class psychiatrists at U of T and abroad.

The Royal College of Psychiatrists podcast

Explores topical discussions in psychiatry.

Australian Associations

• Australian Government Department of Health: Mental Health 
  • Provides information about Australian Government's health policies, programs and regulations.
• The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists RANZCP 
  • An organisation representing psychiatry and responsible for training, examining and awarding qualifications to medical practitioners.
• Victorian State Government Mental Health Services 
  • Provides information about clinical and community support services for young people, adults, and older people.

DSM Websites

• DSM-5
  • Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition by American Psychiatric Association.
• DSM History
  • American Psychiatric Association.
• DSM-5 
  • Links to articles in Psychiatric News, fact sheet, and videos that explain the new organization of the DSM-% and the diagnostic difference between DSM-IV-TR and DSM-5. The links are updated with the publication of each bimonthly edition of Psychiatric News.
• DSM-5 online assessment measures
  • Patient assessment measures were developed  to be introduced at the initial patient interview and to monitor treatment progress. Instructions, scoring information, and interpretation guidelines are included.

International Associations

• American Psychiatric Association 
  • Organization of psychiatrists involved in psychiatric practice, research, representing the diversity of the patients for whom they care.
• Canadian Psychiatric Association
• European Psychiatric Association
• Mental Health 
  • An excellent educational resource for psychiatry with descriptions of mental disorders, a true encyclopedia of mental health. Information created by a Canadian retired psychiatrist Dr. Phillip W.  Long.
• National Institute of Mental Health 
  • Focused on understanding and treatment of mental illnesses (prevention, recovery, and cure).
• Psychiatry Medscape
  • Offers latest medical news, and expert perspectives, essential point of care drug and disease information for physicians and health care professionals.
• Psych Central 
  • The largest and oldest  independent mental health social network. Provides access to information about mental health symptoms and treatment ( lists quizzes, personality tests, mental disorders and illnesses, personality disorders)
• Psychiatry Online 
  • Offers the most comprehensive online access to psychiatric textbooks, journals and professional development tools.
• Royal College of Psychiatrists 
• WHO - Mental Health
  • Presents advice and knowledge about all aspects of mental health.
• World Psychiatric Association
  • ​​​​​​​International organization which represents 140 psychiatric societies, promoting collaborative work in psychiatry.

Monash Health Library provides educational resources, group training, webinars and individual consultations on evidence based practice including guidance on literature searching, appraising and managing search results.

Can’t attend our live webinars?

• The library has a selection of recorded webinars available in Latte.
• Consider requesting group training for your team at a time that suits you. 

Custom training sessions can be arranged to fit with a team meeting or existing professional development schedule. Email library@monashhealth.org for more information.