Access BMJ Learning here.

BMJ Learning Courses are designed to help you learn at every stage of your career. It is free for Monash Health employees and includes hundreds of interactive, peer reviewed learning modules, written by experts from BMJ. BMJ Learning is accredited by the Australian College of Nursing and the Royal Australasian College of Physicians. Earn CME credit for completing courses. 

Click here for instructions on how to register for an account.

Recommended resources:

• A practical guide to diagnosing autism in pre-school children
• Dealing with conflict
• Domestic violence and abuse: asking and responding to women
• The impact of micro-behaviours
• Working in partnership with patients

Evidentia Learning offers free eLearning modules in the field of child maltreatment. These modules are developed in partnership with experts and includes topics such as trauma informed care, child sex trafficking, child abuse and neglect. 

Sign up with a free account to access the modules.

AASW - Social Work People Podcast

AASW – Social Work People explores the diverse world of social work and connects listeners to the people driving change and providing advocacy on the issues that impact upon the quality of life of all Australians. Created by the Australian Association of Social Workers (AASW).

Social Work Spotlight

This podcast features interviews with social workers in Sydney, Australia, showcasing diverse areas of practice, social work stories, successes, and challenges, and providing information on media and other resources that can be accessed to help inform and educate people who are curious about the profession or wanting a career change.

The Social Work Stories Podcast

A podcast exploring Social Work practice through stories & critical reflection.

Social Work Websites

• The Australian Association of Social Workers
  • Professional body for social workers in Australia, whose mission is to promote the profession of social work, advance social justice, uphold standards, and build capacity of members.
• Australian Community Workers Association
  • ACWA is the national body for over 500,000 community work practitioners in Australia.  ACWA's role is to support community workers and advance the profession of community work and to promote the educational, professional and ethical standards essential for exemplary community work practice.
• Australian Council of Social Service 
  • ​​​​​​​ACOSS is a national advocate for action to reduce poverty and inequality and the peak body for the community services sector in Australia. 
• Australian Institute of Criminology 
  • Australia's national research and knowledge centre on crime and justice. 
  • Includes information on crime statistics, trends in issues and criminal justice and library resources covering criminal justice information.
  • Includes research reports covering various criminal topics, including domestic violence.
• Australian Institute of Family Studies 
  • ​​​​​​​Australian Government's key research body in the area of family wellbeing. AIFS conduct research to increase the understanding of Australian families and the issues that affect them. 
  • Includes useful Facts and Figures providing broad trends in Australian families.
• Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
  • ​​​​​​​AIHW is an independent statutory agency that produces authoritative and accessible information and statistics to inform and support better policy and service delivery decisions. 
  • AIHW release around 180 publications per year including Australia's Health and Australia's Welfare. 
  • Also includes information on Behaviours & Risk Factors  Child Protection and Youth Justice.
• International Federation of Social Workers 
  • ​​​​​​​IFSW is a global organisation striving for social justice, human rights and social development through promotion of social work, best practice models and the facilitation of international cooperation.
• Oncology Social Work Australia 
  • Non-profit, incorporated national organisation, formed to assist social workers in striving for excellence in the psychosocial care of people with cancer and those affected by cancer, through networking, education, advocacy, research and resource development.
• Orygen 
  • ​​​​​​​Australia's leading youth mental health organisation. Involved in evidence-based research, policy development, educational and clinical care work, Orygen's vision is for all young people to enjoy optimal mental health as they grow into adulthood.
  • Training section on their site includes fact sheets and webinars on various mental health issues.

Allied Health Websites

• Allied Health Professions Australia 
  • AHPA represents and avocates the role of allied health professionals in health, aged care, disability and education.  A collegiate body consisting of 20 national allied health associations members and five affiliate members.
• HealthTimes 
  • Supports allied health, nursing and midwifery health professionals with professional development resources as well as employment and education opportunities.

Monash Health Library provides educational resources, group training, webinars and individual consultations on evidence based practice including guidance on literature searching, appraising and managing search results.

Can’t attend our live webinars?

• The library has a selection of recorded webinars available in Latte.
• Consider requesting group training for your team at a time that suits you. 

Custom training sessions can be arranged to fit with a team meeting or existing professional development schedule. Email library@monashhealth.org for more information.