AccessMedicine is now available as a mobile app. 

To install the App, follow the steps below.

1. Register for a MyAccess Profile using the instructions in the "set up account" tab.
2. Install the app, using the Apple or Google store icons above.
3. Log in using your MyAccess account details.

You will be asked to re-validate your institutional subscription every 90 days. You will receive an email with instructions.

Watch an in depth demonstration to the app below.

Searching

AccessMedicine uses a simple, easy-to-use search feature. A Search bar will be found at the top of the page.

Tips for searching:

• Autosuggest provides suggestions for filling out your search terms. Autosuggest will appear while you are typing into the search box.
• The Boolean operator 'AND' is applied by default between words, however 'NOT' and 'OR' operators are not.
• Search for exact phrases using quotations. For example "cardiac function"

Refining your search results

Once your search results display, you can refine your search using the Modify Search options on the left of the screen. This allows you to:

• Focus a search by modifying the terms (keyword, title, author, ISBN)
• Filter results by format (book chapter, case, multimedia, etc.)
• Select textbooks to see results by specific titles
• Narrow results by topics

Learn more by watching this instructional 'Search' video (on the McGraw Hill website).

Click here to watch an introductory video on Access Medicine.

AccessMedicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.

• Cases
  • Case Files: Collection of cases covering a broad range of topics including; anatomy, biochemistry, microbiology, neuroscience, pathology, pharmacology and physiology. Go through cases to see approaches to cases, including comprehension questions and references.
  • Harrison's Visual Case Challenge: Gives visuals of cases for diagnosis practice. Diagnose conditions based on patient history and other visual results such as CT scans or photographs.
• Study tools in AccessMedicine
  • Review Questions: Multiple-choice quizzes for self-assessment for residents, trainees, and physicians. Users can generate random and custom quizzes from the textbooks, and email the results. You need to be logged in with your MyAccess Profile to complete a quiz.
  • Clerkship Topics: These curated collections of study materials cover every major topic. Each topic lists the learning objectives, and features selected chapters and cases from across the AccessMedicine library. This content includes essential concepts and procedures interns may observe or assist in during their rotation. 
  • Flashcards: A select set of interactive flashcard content that help you to drill down by resource and/or topic, track cards you've already seen to prioritise studying, and save your favourite flashcards for quick review.
• Podcasts
  • Harrison's Podclass: Discussions on key principles of internal medicine, around board-style case vignettes from the Harrison’s Self Assessment and Board Review.
  • Run the List Podcast: A medical education podcast designed for medical students, new residents, and all learners looking for a high-yield review in internal medicine. Episodes guide listeners through the diagnosis, management, and clinical pearls for common internal medicine problems.
  • S2D: The Symptom to Diagnosis Podcast: A case-based discussion of signs, symptoms and diagnostics tests to improve clinical reasoning and evidence-based practice.
• Huppert's Notes
  • Find notes key pathophysiological concepts linked to clinical approaches to connect learning in the classroom with their application in the wards.
  • Collates key concepts from anatomy and physiology with diagnostics, approaches, pathophysiology and disease, key medications and interventions and clinical trials and publications for all areas of internal medicine. 

The Quick Links section provides clinical reference information for quick lookup, including:

• 2 Minute Medicine:
  • Founded out of Harvard Medical School, provides medical reports of breaking medical literature and seminal studies in medicine.
  • Browse by topics or 'search within' 2 minute medicine.
  • Link to report and original article being reported on.
• Differential Diagnosis (Diagnosaurus, DDx):
  • Differential diagnosis information for thousands of symptoms, signs, and diseases.
  • Organized by system, disease, and organ system.
  • Each entry is linked to related entries (“See Related DDx”) to see related diagnoses which is great for facilitating best differential diagnosis.
• Diagnostic Tests:
  • 'Guide to diagnostic tests' is a reference manual for medical, nursing, and other health professions.
  • Quick reference guide to commonly used diagnostic tests, including lab procedures in the clinical setting.
  • Full citations to PubMed literature.
• QMDT - Quick Medical Diagnosis and Treatment:
  • Provides concise, evidence-based point-of-care resource outlining diagnosis and treatment information for common conditions and disorders in a quick reference format.
  • Key diagnostic and treatment recommendations for more than 930 disorders

Monash Health Library provides educational resources, group training, webinars and individual consultations on evidence based practice including guidance on literature searching, appraising and managing search results.

Can’t attend our live webinars?

• The library has a selection of recorded webinars available in Latte.
• Consider requesting group training for your team at a time that suits you. 

Custom training sessions can be arranged to fit with a team meeting or existing professional development schedule. Email library@monashhealth.org for more information.