General

• Grey Matters : health-related grey literature portal provided by the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies.
• OpenGrey : access to grey literature produced in Europe covering science, biomedical science, social science and humanities.
• Science.gov : a US portal to science information and research development results from federal US agencies.
• Trove (National Library of Australia) : over 6 billion items held in Australian Libraries, plus digitised newspapers.
• World Health Organisation - Global Index Medicus : includes the Index Medicus for South-East Asia Region (IMSEAR) this resource provides access to biomedical and public health literature, including practice guidelines.
• WorldWideScience.org : allows you to search a multilingual collection of national science portals from around the world. Developed and hosted by the US federal government.

Research repositories

• Monash Health Research Repository : our institutional research repository, containing research outputs produced by Monash Health employees and hospital-based researchers.
• Australasian open access research repositories : a list of repositories from the Council of Australian University Librarians (CAUL)
• Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE) : a search engine for academic open access resources.
• Figshare : an open access repository and sharing platform for academic institutions and authors.
• World Health Organisation - Institutional Repository for Information Sharing (IRIS) : WHO’s published material and technical information in full text produced since 1948.

Specialty

• CareSearch Grey Literature : grey literature database with a focus on palliative care.
• International HTA Database : database of completed and ongoing Health Technology Assessments from around the world.
• Policy Commons : database of reports from policy organisations such as think tanks and agencies. Get 25 free searches per month.
• Toxnet (US) : access to databases covering chemicals, drugs, environmental health, safety, poisoning, risk assessment and toxicology. 
• Zenodo : open data repository maintained by the European Centre for Nuclear Research (CERN).
• Defense Technical Information Center (US) : research associated with the US Department of Defense, including topics such as concussion and TBI. 

News media

• Gale OneFile – Online Newspapers: A full-text newspaper resource for Australian media and more than 2,300 major world newspapers. Search by title, headline, date, author, and many other fields. Includes radio, TV broadcasts and transcripts. Coverage is from 2000 up to the current-day
• Trove (National Library of Australia) : items held in Australian Libraries and digitised newspapers.

Most grey literature is freely available. When there is a cost for accessing material, check Trove (from the Australian National Library) or contact us at library@monashhealth.org and we will endeavor to locate the item for you.

Australian

• Guidelines International Network (GIN) International Guidelines Library : recommended by the NHMRC, after the NHMRC Australian Clinical Practice Guidelines Portal was decommissioned in late 2021.
• RAGCP clinical guidelines : portal to Australian Guidelines from the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners.
• RANZCP Guidelines and Resources for Practice : guidelines and resources for practice for psychiatrists and other mental health professionals.
• Therapeutic Goods Association (TGA) : key regulatory body for therapeutic goods including medicines, vitamins, medical devices and blood products.

International

• CPG Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines : a database containing approximately 1,200 evidence-based Canadian clinical practice guidelines. (Being discontinued Dec 2023)
• GIN international guideline library : contains links to guidelines published or endorsed by GIN member organisations from across the globe. It also contains a registry of planned guidelines and guidelines in development.
• National Guideline Clearinghouse (US) : medical guidelines and measures, also offering quick links to summaries and updates. Access is via the Alliance for the Implementation of Clinical Practice Guidelines (AICPG).
• Natural Medicines (US) : US information about natural medicines including the Natural Medicines Brand Evidence-based Rating (NMBER).
• NICE: Clinical Guidelines United Kingdom guidance and advice list from the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence.
• SIGN (Scotland) Website of Heathcare Improvement Scotland contains Scottish guidelines, which are listed in full under "our guidelines".
• TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database : the well known Trip medical database contains a large collection of clinical guidelines from around the world

Most grey literature is freely available. When there is a cost for accessing material, check Trove (from the Australian National Library) or contact us at library@monashhealth.org and we will endeavor to locate the item for you.

Before searching for government documentation you will need to identify relevant authorities, agencies and stakeholders. This is important step due to the breadth of government and agency information. Useful directories include:

• GovPubs : a guide to government publications in Australian libraries and on the internet.
• Victoria online : a general access point for Victorian government information and websites.

Once you have identified the relevant bodies, targeted website browsing/searching is likely to be the best approach.

Google Tips:  use shortcuts "site:.vic.gov.au" or "site:.gov.au" 

Victorian government & agency websites

• Department of Health and Human Services (Victoria) : Victorian health services and information. Note: In February 2021, the DHHS was superseded by the Department of Health and the Department of Families, Fairness and Housing. DHHS publications can still be accessed on this website.
• Department of Health (Victoria) - Victorian health services and information.

National government & agency websites

• Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO)*: access to a range of research reports, working papers, discussion papers and statistics for effective public policy debate, decision making and implementation. *Note: APO is closing as of 15 December 2023. 
• Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (ACSQHC) : publications and resources about safety and quality, NSQHS Standards
• Australian Drug Information Network (ADIN) : alcohol and drug search directory. 
• Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) : high-quality reports and other information products, on key health and welfare issues in Australia.
• Department of Health (Commonwealth) : website for the federal portfolio for health.
• Services Australia : the Australian Government's Department for Social Services, including health, family and disability services.
• National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) : key driver of health and medical research in Australia.
• PHCRIS Research Profiles : the Primary Health Care Research and Information Service. 

Most grey literature is freely available. When there is a cost for accessing material, check Trove (from the Australian National Library) or contact us at library@monashhealth.org and we will endeavor to locate the item for you.

Overton database

If you are affiliated with a university, you may have access to the subscription database Overton Index. Overton Index is a searchable database of policy literature from around the world, including government documents and think tank research.

For an extensive list of clinical trials registries, visit Finding Clinical Trials, Research Registers and Research Results.

Australian

• Australian Clinical Trials : a joint initiative between the National Health and Medical Research Council and the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science to provide information about Australian clinical trials.
• Australian New Zealand Clinical Trials Registry (ANZCTR) : an online register of clinical trials being undertaken in Australia, New Zealand and elsewhere.
• Research Data Australia : a portal that provides research data so it can be re-accessed and re-used. Aggregated from Australian research organisations and government agencies.
• Victorian Cancer Trials Link : a portal maintained by Cancer Council Victoria.

International

• ClinicalTrials.gov : US National Institutes of Health registry and results of trials conducted around the world.
• Cochrane Library (Wiley) : Cochrane central register of controlled trials [CENTRAL]
• International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP) : WHO central database of registration data sets which are provided by registries from around the world.
• European Union Clinical Trials Register : European database of interventional clinical trials and clinical trials which are conducted outside the EU but linked to European medicine development.
• Be Part of Research (UK) : database of UK clinical trials maintained by the National Institute of Health and Care Research (NIHR).
• ISRCTN Registry of Trials from Biomed Central : a primary clinical trial registry recognised by WHO and ICMJE that accepts all research studies. Study records in the database are freely accessible and searchable.

Most grey literature is freely available. When there is a cost for accessing material, check Trove (from the Australian National Library) or contact us at library@monashhealth.org and we will endeavor to locate the item for you.

• Australian Indigenous HealthInfonet : upcoming and past (last 6 months) conferences, workshops and events.
• Biomed Central Proceedings : proceedings of conferences across all scientific and clinical disciplines.
• MEDLINE : limit your search to Publication Type "Clinical Conference", "Congresses" or "Consensus Development Conference". 
• ​PsycInfo : search for conference papers by restricting Book Type to "Conference Proceedings".
• The Open Conference Proceedings Journal An open access online journal which publishes conference proceedings in all major scientific conferences with a focus on biological science, medicine, chemical and engineering & technology. Note: discontinued but content accessible up to 2018.
• National Rural Health Alliance : access past papers from National Rural Health Alliance conferences here. A list of other Australian health conferences is also maintained.
• NLM Meeting Abstracts Data :  abstracts from meetings and conferences in the subject areas of AIDS, Health Services Research, and Life Span Sciences. Published between 1990 – 2010, in XML file format.
• Conference Collections at the British Library : comprehensive collection of conference publications which can be search for in the main library catalogue, limit search results by filtering Form/Genre to "Conference Literature".

Most grey literature is freely available. When there is a cost for accessing material, check Trove (from the Australian National Library) or contact us at library@monashhealth.org and we will endeavor to locate the item for you.

Australian

The National Library's Trove system provides links to Australian theses (if they are available digitally). Records are provided for hard copy theses and dissertations. To search:

1. Go to Trove (National Library of Australia)
2. Click on 'Advanced Search' and click category 'Research and Reports'
3. Enter your keywords and click search
4. Click on the filter on the left hand side 'thesis'

Thesis and dissertations may also be available from the institutional repositories of Universities. The Australasian Open Access Strategy Group (AOASG) provides a list of repositories in Australian and New Zealand Universities.

International

• American Doctoral Dissertations (EBSCO) : a free index to mainly 20th Century American theses. 
• CORE (COnnecting REpositories) (Open University) : searchable access to millions of research papers from repositories and Open Access journals, and is also a useful site for locating theses and dissertations.
• DART Europe E-theses Portal : access to over 710,000 open access theses from European universities and research libraries.
• Open Access Theses and Dissertations : open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. 
• WorldCat : global network of Library content. Under the Content type menu, select "Theses/dissertations".
• NDLTD : Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations including output from USA, Europe, Asia and South America
• ETHOS : British Library theses database comprising more than half a million doctoral theses. 

Most grey literature is freely available. When there is a cost for accessing material, check Trove (from the Australian National Library) or contact us at library@monashhealth.org and we will endeavor to locate the item for you.

Australian Statistics

• Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS): independent and high-quality statistics on a range of topics.
• ABS Health: Categories include Health Conditions and Risks, Causes of Death, and Mental Health.
• ABS Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples: Relevant statistics on a range of topics.
• Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) - Reports & Data: Browse by condition, population group, risk factor, and more.
• National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System: Public datasets on notifiable communicable diseases.
• Monash University Accident Research Centre: Includes the Victorian Injury Surveillance Unit (VISU) Data Request Service.
• Safe Work Australia data: Statistical reports on health and safety and injury data.
• Australian Institute of Family Studies - Facts & Figures: Data on topics such as births, marriages, and households.
• Services Australia - Statistical Information and Data: Statistical information related to Centrelink, Medicare, and Child Support.
• Medical Schools Outcomes Database Reports: Reports on surveys of final year medical students, produced by Medical Deans Australia and New Zealand.
• Victorian Agency for Health Information (VAHI): Reports on population health surveys, patient experience, ED wait time, and more.
• NSW Bureau of Health Information: Independent reports and information on the performance of the NSW health system.
• HealthStats NSW: Population health data from NSW Health.
• Government of South Australia - Health Statistics: Statistics reported by SA Health.

International Statistics

• Global Health Observatory (GHO) data: The World Health Organisation's gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 member states.
• United Nations Statistics Division: global statistical information.
• UN National Statistical Offices: Database with links to national statistical authorities worldwide.
• New Zealand Ministry of Health - Data and Statistics
• Stats NZ Tatauranga Aotearoa: New Zealand's official data agency.
• Statistics Canada: The national statistical office of Canada.
• Statistics at the Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC): UK health statistics.
• National Center for Health Statistics: Run by the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
• Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD): statistical database and publications for international comparisons of health and health systems

Most grey literature is freely available. When there is a cost for accessing material, check Trove (from the Australian National Library) or contact us at library@monashhealth.org and we will endeavor to locate the item for you.