When should you conduct a literature search?

Literature searches play a fundamental role in evidence-based practice, research, and continuous improvement.

Monash Health employees and students engage in many activities which require an effective search for relevant, high-quality literature, including:

• Involvement in research projects
• Writing for publication, e.g. literature reviews
• Updating or developing clinical procedures or guidelines
• Preparing for a presentation or education session
• Planning service improvements
• Completing advanced training or fellowship projects
• Undertaking health technology assessments (HTAs)
• Answering complex clinical queries for patient care

Library research support

Monash Health employees can request various forms of research support depending on the purpose of your research. Our research support includes: 

• Research consultations
• Literature search service
• Literature review report service
• Feedback on your literature search strategy
• Co-authorship for systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis projects

Complete this online form to request research support and learn more about each service offered.

Request research support

Click here for an overview of Library research support services and eligibility.

Overview of Library Research Support Services

Covidence workspace set-up

Covidence is a web‐based tool that will help you through the process of screening the results of your literature search, extracting data, and keeping track of your work.

Fill out this online form to request assistance with setting up a Covidence workspace for your project.

Webinars and group training

Monash Health Library provides regular webinars and group training on evidence-based practice. Training related to literature searching includes:

• Literature searching for research and clinical practice - with MEDLINE demo
• Govt reports, guidelines, trial data & more: Finding grey literature
• How to evaluate a research paper
• EndNote: Demo and Q&A

Learn more about Education & Training

Browse the webinar calendar

Can’t attend our live webinars?

• The library has a selection of recorded webinars available in Latte.
• Consider requesting group training for your team at a time that suits you. 

Can't find the answer to your question? The Monash Health Library team is here to help -- email us or use our live online chat (Mon-Fri).

Q: What is Ovid?

Ovid is a powerful search platform that is used to build and run complex, reproducible searches on different journal databases.

At Monash Health, Ovid is used search the following subscription databases: Medline, Embase, Emcare, and APA PsycInfo.

Q: What are subject headings?

Subject headings are specific words or phrases that are used to describe the topic(s) of a journal article, conference paper, or other publication. They are essentially tags or labels that are applied to publications in a consistent manner, using a pre-defined list of words or phrases. A comprehensive literature search uses subject headings in addition to keywords.

In health research, Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) are used by journal databases such as Medline and PubMed. However, Embase and Emcare use Emtree subject headings, and PsycINFO uses the APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.​

Q: Does Monash Health have access to CINAHL?

CINAHL is a nursing and allied health database. Monash Health does not have access to CINAHL; however, we do have alternatives such as Emcare. 

CINAHL may be accessible to Monash University staff and students. 

Q: Can l use just one database? How many databases do I need?

It is essential that you search multiple databases if you are:

• Completing a literature review of any kind, from an initial scoping review to a systematic review.
• Reviewing or developing a clinical guideline, policy, or procedure.

Read more about searching multiple databases.

Note: Monash Health employees can request a literature search by the Library team.

Q: Which databases should l choose?

Consult the summary below and read our guidance on choosing databases.

Health Databases Overview