BMJ Learning courses are designed to help you learn at every stage of your career. It is free for Monash Health employees and includes hundreds of interactive, peer reviewed learning modules, written by experts from BMJ. BMJ Learning is accredited by the Australian College of Nursing and the Royal Australasian College of Physicians. Earn CME credit for completing courses. 

Click here for instructions on how to register for an account.

Recommended resources:

• Cranial nerve examination - 30 minutes
• Stroke: a focused neurological examination within a subacute setting - 1 hour
• Stroke: differential diagnoses - 1 hour
• Epilepsy: diagnosis and management in primary care - 1 hour
• Ask the consultant: Stroke - 1 hour
• An an expert: Headache - 1 hour
• Ask an expert: Transient ischaemic attack and stroke - 1 hour
• Hospital presentations: Blackouts and collapse - 1 hour
• Hospital presentations: Headache - 1.5 hours
• Hospital presentations: Memory loss - 1 hour
• Managing migraine in primary care - 1 hour
• Step by step: transient ischaemic attack and ischaemic stroke - secondary prevention - 1 hour

Access a range of 3D-animated procedural videos in BMJ Best Practice. These short guides show you how to perform common medical and surgical techniques, and include supporting information such as equipment needed, contraindications, indications, possible complications and aftercare advice. Videos are included on ascitic drainage, aspiration and injection, catheter insertion, insertion of intercostal drains, nasogastric tube insertion, ventilation, suturing techniques and tracheal intubation.

Recommended Resources:

• Neurology clinical overviews 
• Neurology case reports

ClinicalKey is an Elsevier platform of eBooks, journals and clinical support tools such as guidelines and calculators. ClinicalKey also has a variety of procedural videos and image collections. 

Click here for instructions on how to access ClinicalKey.

Recommended resources:

• Browse Neurology clinical overviews

In conversation with... The Lancet Neurology

Our Editors and and the journal’s authors explore their research and its impact on people’s health, health care, and health policy in this regular podcast.

JAMA Neurology Author Interviews

Interviews with authors of articles from JAMA Neurology. JAMA Neurology is an international peer-reviewed journal for physicians caring for people with neurologic disorders and those interested in the structure and function of the normal and diseased nervous system.

Neurology Podcast

The official podcast of Neurology Journal.

NeurologyLive®Mind Moments®

Listen in to hear the latest clinical and research updates from major medical conferences, as well as insights on the management of complex disorders, including epilepsy, migraine, Alzheimer disease, stroke, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson disease, and more.

The Lancet Neurology in conversation with

A monthly audio companion to the journal, this podcast covers a broad range of topics, from sleep habits to amyloid biomarkers in Alzheimer’s, the diagnosis and classification of optic neuritis to treatment of Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease, and more.

SAGE Neuroscience and Neurology

Official Podcast from SAGE for Neuroscience & Neurology.

Australian Websites

• Australian and New Zealand Association of Neurologists
  • ANZAN plays an active role in training, education and research to ensure that high standards of clinical neurology are practiced. A membership association, ANZAN provides information relating to training, community related information such as support groups and events, and the ANZAN Education and Research Foundation.
• Brain Foundation
  • Provides extensive information on most neurological diseases and conditions.
• The Royal Australasian College of Physicians Neurology Program
  • ​​​​​​​Handbook covering the Advanced Training in Neurology program.

International Websites

• American Academy of Neurology
  • ​​​​​​​Professional society dedicated to promoting high quality patient care providing information related to education and research as well policy and guidelines.
• American Headache Society
  • ​​​​​​​AHS is a professional society dedicated to the study and treatment of headache and face pain.
• Child Neurology Society
  • ​​​​​​​CNS site supports the ongoing academic, research and practice-based needs of its members.
• International Headache Society
  • ​​​​​​​IHS is a leading membership organisation whose purpose is to advance headache science, education, management and also promote headache awareness worldwide. Provides various guidelines including classification of headache disorders.
• International Parkinson and Movement Disorder Society
  • ​​​​​​​International society for movement disorder professionals who work to disseminate knowledge and promote research in this area. A patient resources section includes movement disorders handouts and a glossary.
• National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
  • ​​​​​​​NINDS is an institute within the National Institutes of Health that aims to seek fundamental knowledge about the brain and nervous system to reduce the effects of neurological disease. Provides resources for researchers, health professionals and caregivers.  Useful section on current research on various neurological disorders. 
• Society for Neuroscience
  • SFN is responsible for publishing the scientific journals JNeurosci and eNeuro and provides professional development through Neuronline.  Also responsible for BrainFacts.org an interactive collection of public-related resources.
• World Federation of Neurology
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​WFN represents 120 neurological societies internationally with a mission to foster quality neurology and brain health worldwide by promoting global education and training particularly in under-resourced areas.

Monash Health Library provides educational resources, group training, webinars and individual consultations on evidence based practice including guidance on literature searching, appraising and managing search results.

Can’t attend our live webinars?

• The library has a selection of recorded webinars available in Latte.
• Consider requesting group training for your team at a time that suits you. 

Custom training sessions can be arranged to fit with a team meeting or existing professional development schedule. Email library@monashhealth.org for more information.