BMJ Learning courses are designed to help you learn at every stage of your career. It is free for Monash Health employees and includes hundreds of interactive, peer reviewed learning modules, written by experts from BMJ. BMJ Learning is accredited by the Australian College of Nursing and the Royal Australasian College of Physicians. Earn CME credit for completing courses. 

Click here for instructions on how to register for an account.

Recommended resources:

• Hospital pharmacists making the difference - 30 minutes
• The hospital pharmacist’s role in antithrombotic stewardship - 30 Minutes
• Intravenous therapy - 3 courses, 3 Hours
• Drug errors in hospital practice - 1 Hour

Search or browse case reports on rare diseases and unusual presentation of more common diseases

Recommended Resources:

• Case reports
  • Pharmacology and therapeutics
  • Drug interactions
  • Drug misuse (including addiction)
  • Drugs and medicines
  • Drugs: CNS (not psychiatric)
  • Drugs: cardiovascular system
  • Drugs: endocrine system
  • Drugs: gastrointestinal system
  • Drugs: infectious diseases
  • Drugs: musculoskeletal and joint diseases
  • Drugs: obstetrics and gynaecology
  • Drugs: psychiatry
  • Drugs: respiratory system
• Overviews
  • A-Z list of overviews
  • Overview of substance use disorders and overdose

ClinicalKey is an Elsevier platform of eBooks, journals and clinical support tools such as guidelines and calculators. ClinicalKey also has a variety of procedural videos and image collections. 

Click here for instructions on how to access ClinicalKey.

Recommended resources:

• Browse Pain medicine clinical overviews

Australian Prescriber

The Australian Prescriber Podcast provides a regular dive into some of the many great articles that Australian Prescriber publishes every two months. In each episode, one of our hosts will chat with an author from a recent issue of Australian Prescriber.

The AJP Podcast 

The  Australian Journal of Pharmacy podcast by pharmacists, for pharmacists, brought to you by the AJP.

Each episode, join a diverse panel of pharmacists from all settings and experience levels discussing topics that affect pharmacists in day to day practice – such as ability & gender diversity in pharmacy, and medicinal cannabis.

Purple Pen Podcast

An Australian show featuring fortnightly news and education for pharmacists. It focuses on contemporary clinical practice and interview relevant guests about topical clinical and practice related issues.

Monash Health Pharmacy (accessible onsite or via citrix)

• NEW Medication Safety intranet page 
  • Valuable resources prepared by the Medication Safety and Therapeutics Committee. Designed to enhance user experience and facilitate easy access to essential information. Access the page here or via the intranet Clinical Portal. 
• Pharmacy intranet page 
  • Includes ADR Reporting Service; medicine shortages; medication location guide; information for patients; and more.
• Antibiotic Stewardship intranet page 
  • Includes guidelines, traffic light, TDM, education, and more.

Australian Associations

• Pharmacy Board (AHPRA) 
• Medicines and Poisons Regulation - VIC Department of Health. 
• Department of Health and Ageing - Health Products and Medicines 
  • Information on complementary medicines, medical devices and medicines.
• National Centre for Antimicrobial Stewardship
• TGA Medicines - Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) is Australia's regulatory authority for therapeutic good.
• Biosimilar medicines information collection 
  • Information about biosimilar medicines available in Australia.
• EviQ - Cancer Treatments Online 
  • Current, evidence based cancer treatment protocols and information.
• The Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia
• Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA) 
  • Australia's peak national professional pharmacy organisation
• Medicines Australia 
  • Represents the pharmaceutical industry in Australia.

International Associations

• U.S. Food and Drug Administration
• European Medicines Agency
• Royal Pharmaceutical Society
• The Handbook of Perioperative Medicines (UK)
  • Access the third edition of the handbook online. 
  • The Handbook is funded by the UK Clinical Pharmacy Association. 

Monash Health Library provides educational resources, group training, webinars and individual consultations on evidence based practice including guidance on literature searching, appraising and managing search results.

Can’t attend our live webinars?

• The library has a selection of recorded webinars available in Latte.
• Consider requesting group training for your team at a time that suits you. 

Custom training sessions can be arranged to fit with a team meeting or existing professional development schedule. Email library@monashhealth.org for more information.