BMJ Learning offers Monash Health employees full access to high-quality continuing medical education for healthcare professionals. Each course is evidence-based, peer-reviewed and regularly updated. 

Click here for instructions on how to register for an account.

Recommended resources:

• Clinical pointers: Recognition and management of obsessive-compulsive disorder in primary care - 1 hour
• Generalised anxiety disorder: diagnosis and management in adults in primary care - 1 hour
• Hospital presentations: suicidal ideation and self harm - 30 min

Speaking of Psychology

Produced by the American Psychological Association, "Speaking of Psychology" is an audio podcast series highlighting some of the latest, most important and relevant psychological research being conducted today.

Clinically Thinking

A podcast by Clinical Psychologists, for Clinical Psychologists. Deep-dive conversations with clinicians and academics at the forefront of their fields. A resource for all clinicians from graduates to gurus.

All in the Mind

Hosted by Lynne Malcolm, All In The Mind is ABC RN's weekly podcast looking into the mental universe, the mind, brain and behaviour — everything from addiction to artificial intelligence

Psychology Unplugged

Weekly discussions and perspectives on all aspects of psychology, neuropsychology, psychopharmacology, and mental health topics. Psychoeducation, information, misinformation, controversy, and passion about an incredibly relevant and misunderstood medical field.

DSM Websites

• DSM History
• DSM-5
  • Psychiatric News, fact sheet, and videos that explain the new organization of the DSM-% and the diagnostic difference between DSM-IV-TR and DSM-5. The links are updated with the publication of each bimonthly edition of Psychiatric News.
• DSM-5 online assessment measures 
  • Patient assessment measures were developed  to be introduced at the initial patient interview and to monitor treatment progress. Instructions, scoring information, and interpretation guidelines are included.
• Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health 
  • Reviews of the commonly used outcome and screening measures for the major psychiatric diagnoses and treatment scenarios. 
• International Classification of Diseases (ISD)
• "Measuring Consumer Outcomes in Mental Health : Field Testing of Selected Measures of Consumer Outcome in Mental Health" 
  • A report by Terry Stedman et al to the Australian Health Ministers' Advisory Council National Mental Health Working Group Mental Health Branch Commonwealth Department of Health and Family Services, October 1997. 
• National Centre of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder - Assessment 
  • Provides clinicians with descriptive, reference, and contact information about child and adult measures of trauma exposure and responses by U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
• Psychiatry Online
  • ​​​​​​​Offers the most comprehensive online access to psychiatric textbooks, journals and professional development tools.
• Review of Recovery Measures 
  • Australian Mental Health Outcomes and Classification Network, completed in 2010 by Philip Burgess et al.
• VTPU/Mental Health Instruments in non-English Languages 
  • Resource containing mental health instruments in non-English languages, from Victorian Transcultural Psychiatry Unit.

Australian Associations

• The Australian Psychological Society (APS)
  • Largest professional association for psychologists in Australia and is committed to advancing psychology as a discipline and profession. 
• Beyond Blue
• Black Dog Institute 
• Society of Australasian Social Psychologists 
  • Organisation to facilitate contact with social psychologists in countries around the world through regular meetings and regular networking.

International Associations

• American Psychological Association 
  • Largest scientific and professional organization of psychologists in United States, promoting advanced communication and application of psychological science and knowledge to benefit society and improve lives.
• The British Psychological Society
• Psych Central 
  • Largest and oldest  independent mental health social network. Provides access to information about mental health symptoms and treatment (lists quizzes, personality tests, mental disorders and illnesses, personality disorders).
• Psychology resources around the world 
  • An up-to-date and authoritative source of information, overviews, and links to psychology around the world.
• Educational Psychology Interactive 
  • Provides links to topics such as psychology, education, children and parenting.
• Industrial-Organizational Links of the Social Psychology Network 
  • Links related to organizational psychology, industrial psychology, human resources management and professional associations in other countries.
• Neuropsychology Central 
  • Includes collection of publications and links to resources, associations, conferences, training and software
• Social Psychology Network 
  • Website devoted to psychological research and teaching. Provides access to more than 5.000 links related to psychology.

Monash Health Library provides educational resources, group training, webinars and individual consultations on evidence based practice including guidance on literature searching, appraising and managing search results.

Can’t attend our live webinars?

• The library has a selection of recorded webinars available in Latte.
• Consider requesting group training for your team at a time that suits you. 

Custom training sessions can be arranged to fit with a team meeting or existing professional development schedule. Email library@monashhealth.org for more information.