Skip to Main Content
Monash Health Library
If you have an exact title add ti= (eg. ti=Emergency Medicine)


Click here to chat with a librarian

Step 1 - Locate appropriate resources and data repositories and other open data sources that include relevant data sets that could be used as part of new research.  Some possible sources for locating relevant data are listed below.  Further information can be found in the Preservation section of this guide.


Monash Health


Australian

  • Australian Data Archive
    • (ADA) a national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data. ADA holds over 6,000 datasets from more than 1500 projects and studies and includes health studies.
  • Australian Research Data Commons: (ARDC)
    • Enables researchers to access, contribute and use quality research data.
  • Health Data Australia
    • Health Data Australia is a national catalogue of Australian health data designed for researchers who want to discover and request access to data for their research.
  • Maiam Nayri Wingara
    • Maiam nayri Wingara Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Data Sovereignty Collective develops Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander data sovereignty principles and also focuses on identifying Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander strategic data assets. This includes development of an Australian set of Indigenous Data Governance protocols.
  • Research Data Australia 
    • Helps find, access and reuse data for research. Data is not stored at Research Data Australia but provides descriptions of and links to the data from data publishing partners.

International


Other Open Data Sources and Information

  • ANDS 
    • Australian National Data Service explains what open data is and the benefits of open data access. 
  • The Open Data Handbook 
    • provided by the Open Knowledge Foundation discusses the legal, social and technical aspects of open data.  Also includes case studies that illustrate the value and impact of open data.  The Resource Library provides guides, presentations and videos relating to open data.
  • Check Monash Health Library's Open Access guide which provides valuable links to various open access and open data information.

Step 2 - Systematic Searching - perform systematic literature searching to identify any previous studies that cover topics similar to the area you are about to research.  The following link provides access to Monash Health Library's guide to Literature Searching that provides clear steps to systematic literature searching.

Literature Searching Guide

Step 3 - Citation and Attribution - details on how to cite documents and also manage collected research articles located during systematic literature searches can be found in the link to Monash Health Library's Referencing guide.

Alway attribute when referring to another author's work, in respect of copyright. More information about this principle can be found in the Monash Health Library's Copyright and Licensing guide. 

Referencing Guide

Step 4 - Research Data Collection - There is no formal definition of what research data is. Research data can be in many formats including numerical, textual, digital or physical.  Research may include different types of data such as those listed below. 

  • laboratory and field notebooks
  • primary research data in machine readable form
  • databases
  • questionnaires
  • photographs
  • test responses
  • drawings
  • 3D models
  • audio-visual recordings

Raw data is any form of data collected in the process of conducting research.  

Research data management guides how all forms of data will be organised and maintained during the research process and after the project is completed.

 You may need Human Ethics approval to collect data. Check with Research Support Services.

Monash Health acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land, the Wurundjeri and Boonwurrung peoples, and we pay our respects to them, their culture and their Elders past, present and future.

We are committed to creating a safe and welcoming environment that embraces all backgrounds, cultures, sexualities, genders and abilities.