If you have an exact title add ti= (eg. ti=Emergency Medicine)
Medline is a premier citation database for peer reviewed literature on biomedicine and life sciences topics available via Ovid. Created by the US National Library of Medicine, it comprises over 26 million articles from quality, peer-reviewed journals. Coverage is from 1966 to present (with some older material) and it is updated daily.
Benefits of My Account in Ovid
Set up a personal account with Ovid for additional features, to save searches and set up alerts. To set this up:
This will allow you to save searches and set up alerts. Instructions are below.
Follow step by step instructions below.
The below video provides an overview and introduction to Medline.
Identifying Search Terms - How to search in a clinical database like Medline. Medline uses MeSH subject headings.
Literature Search in Ovid - How to create a search in an Ovid database such as Medline.
Boolean Operators by Database Platform chart - What boolean Operators are and how to use them in a database search.
Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) in MEDLINE®/PubMed®: A Tutorial - Tutorial on how to use MeSH subject headings
Performing and advanced search in Ovid MEDLINE - PDF fact sheet on how to search in Medline.
Save a Search and Create an Alert
In Ovid you can save a search that you have created.
This means you can repeat the search at a later time, share the search with others and have a saved copy you can make changes to as you search.
You can also create an auto-alert which will let you know when more articles related to your search have been added to the database.
Follow the step by step instructions to save a search in Ovid.
Selecting & exporting results
Results can be printed, emailed or exported to a reference manager, Word or Excel.
Please note that Medline can only export 1000 results at a time.For exporting large numbers of results export them in batches of 1000. For more information about how to export results from medline, Embase, Emcare or PhycInfo please watch this video about exporting results.
Follow step by step instructions below
Full Text
To find the full text of results. Within Medli on the right hand side is a link to full text options. Some articles will not have a full text link or the link leads to a page with no download option available.
Use the Article Request Form when searching on the library website or email the library at library@monashhealth.org for help accessing articles.
Download LibKey Nomad in your preferred browser to find full-text PDFs quickly and easily. After downloading the browser extension, set your organisation to 'Monash Health Library'. When exporting database results in Embase, a LibKey Link will be added to your Word or Excel file.
Monash Health Library provides educational resources, group training, webinars and individual consultations on evidence based practice including guidance on literature searching, appraising and managing search results.
Can’t attend our live webinars?
Custom training sessions can be arranged to fit with a team meeting or existing professional development schedule. Email library@monashhealth.org for more information.
Monash Health acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land, the Wurundjeri and Boonwurrung peoples, and we pay our respects to them, their culture and their Elders past, present and future.
We are committed to creating a safe and welcoming environment that embraces all backgrounds, cultures, sexualities, genders and abilities.
