Clinical Guides: Thieme MedOne Neurosurgery User Guide: User Guide

Thieme MedOne Neurosurgery

Thieme MedOne Neurosurgery is an online platform of neurosurgery eBooks, journals, procedures, cases, follow-up tips, images and videos.

Key features of MedOne Neurosurgery include 275 Neurosurgery and Spine Surgery eBooks, Thieme's 4 Neurosurgery Journals, 418 surgical procedures providing step-by-step instructions on core techniques, 225 cases with associated Q&A, and over 95,000 images, videos and audio in the Media Center - all downloadable to PowerPoint.

The below video provides an introduction to Thieme MedOne Neurosurgery.

Resources available from MedOne Neurosurgery include:

eBooks
- MedOne Neurosurgery offers you helpful tools to optimise and integrate eBook content into your research. Click here for more information.
eJournals
- MedOne offers access to the latest journal content along with helpful tools to optimise and integrate eJournal content into your research. Click here for more information.
Procedures
- MedOne procedures provide surgical details on techniques, complications, complications, and post-operative outcomes. Procedures are topically structured to meet the requirements of each MedOne clinical speciality. Click here for more information.
Playlists
- Allows you to assemble content into a collection where it can be easily viewed. Content can be added from MedOne, uploaded from your personal files, or link to other pages. Playlists can be set to private, or shared with other MedOne users at Monash Health. Click here for more information.
Images/Audio/Video
- MedOne offers an extensive media library of images, videos and figures. To add media to your playlist, click on the yellow star. Click here for more information.

Create a personal account with MedOne to access the site from home, create playlists, pin content to your personal homepage, and use the mobile app.

To create a personal account:

Login to MedOne Neurosurgery via the Monash Health Library Databases page
Click "Sign up for access for home" in the top right hand corner.
Click "Register now"
Complete form

Contact library@monashhealth.org if you require assistance.

The MedOne App provides mobile access to all the content on the MedOne Neurosurgery database.

To use the app, you must first set up a MedOne personal account
Download the app using the Apple and Google buttons above

Follow step by step instructions below.

Searching & Filtering

MedOne offers sophisticated search functionality across all of its content. To begin, simply enter your desired search term in the search bar at the top of the page.

MedOne utilises an autocomplete feature. This allows MedOne to suggest search terms and match your search against its content. Suggestions automatically appear as you type, allowing quick, precise access to resources.
MedOne searches across its eBooks and other content, highlighting your search terms. In addition to displaying its own matching content,

MedOne also displays the top PubMed results for your search. These are listed just below the MedOne search results.

Search filters allow for simple narrowing of searches to specific formats, such as eBooks, or specific format.

Alternatively, if browsing eBooks, MedOne allows for filtering by title, author/editor, alphabetical listing, and publication date.

MedOne also allows for searching directly within an eBook or eJournal. Simply use the search bar that appears directly above the content.

MedOne provides resources for students, Supporting studies and exam preparations

Procedures
- MedOne procedures provide surgical details on techniques, complications, complications, and post-operative outcomes. Procedures are topically structured to meet the requirements of each MedOne clinical speciality. For more information click here.
Cases
- Management and follow-up tips for 225 cases. Neurosurgery specific cases organised by topic.
Playlists
- Find curated content collections or assemble a personal collection in MedOne. For more information click here.
Board Review
- Exam preparation with reviews of neurosurgical content.
Questions & Answers
- 1,500 multiple choice questions and answers from Neurosurgery Primary Board Review by Ross Puffer presents an upto-date question bank designed to prepare neurosurgeons for the ABNS written examination. For more information click here.

monash health library logo

Monash Health Library provides educational resources, group training, webinars and individual consultations on evidence based practice including guidance on literature searching, appraising and managing search results.

Can’t attend our live webinars?

The library has a selection of recorded webinars available in Latte.
Consider requesting group training for your team at a time that suits you.

Custom training sessions can be arranged to fit with a team meeting or existing professional development schedule. Email library@monashhealth.org for more information.