Clinical Guides: Music Therapy Resource Guide: Databases

Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
Elsevier platform of eBooks, journals and clinical support tools such as guidelines and calculators. Continuously updated.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of Cochrane databases containing high-quality evidence including Cochrane reviews and RCTs. Updated every 3 months.
Embase (OvidSP) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive biomedical and pharmacological database of peer reviewed literature on the Ovid platform. Coverage date: 1980 - present.
Emcare via Ovid This link opens in a new window
Premium nursing and allied health database and search tool, ideal for practice, research, or education. Coverage date: 1995-present.
HealthPathways Melbourne This link opens in a new window
HealthPathways offers clinicians locally agreed information to make the right decisions, together with patients, at the point of care.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
An extensive database of peer-reviewed literature provided by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Coverage date: 1946-present.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Dietary supplements, natural medicines and complementary, alternative and integrative therapies. Continuously updated.
OTseeker This link opens in a new window
Occupational therapy database with abstracts of systematic reviews, RCTs and occupational therapy interventions. Coverage date: 2002-present. Search guidance available at http://www.otseeker.com/Info/BasicSearchHelp.aspx
PEDro This link opens in a new window
Physiotherapy evidence based database for RCTs, systematic reviews and guidelines. Continuously updated. Search help available at https://pedro.org.au/english/learn/search-help/
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Database of peer reviewed literature in the psychological, social, behavioural and health sciences. Coverage date: 2002-present.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based point of care tool for decision support with continuously updated expert opinion. Continuously updated.

Australian Music:

State Library Victoria Music Guide
- Use this guide to find popular songs and classical scores in the SLV collection.
- SLV members also have access to Oxford Music Online and the Music & Performing Arts databases (SLV membership log in is required)
National Library of Australia Music Collection
- Browse Australian published and unpublished sheet music covering a range of musical styles (some digitised), historical and contemporary music (in notated form), archives of composers, performers and music organisations and more.

Music Scores:

Musescore
- One of the largest online database of amateur and professional music scores for solo and ensemble instruments. Contemporary and classical music scores available.
- Operates on a freemium model with most amateur sheet music available for free download.
Musicnotes
- A small selection of free sheet music is available. Paid sheet music is also available.
Mutopia Project
- Copyright-free and royalty-free music scores available for download in PDF format.
- Computer-generated audio MIDI files are also available to preview the music.
Sheet Music Plus
- A small selection of free sheet music is available on the website.
- Paid sheet music is also available.

Sound Recordings:

Library of Congress National Jukebox
- The National Jukebox is a collection of historical sound recordings made available to the public free of charge and maintained by the United States Library of Congress.
- The collection includes classical, opera, religious and popular music such as blues, ethnic music, musical theater, jazz, country music and more.
Internet Archive: Live Music Archive
- A collection of live music recordings available freely online.

Music Scores & Sound Recordings:

IMSLP
- The International Music Score Library Project (also known as the Petrucci Music Library) is one of the largest collection of free classical music scores and recordings in the public domain and music recordings with Creative Commons licenses.
Musopen
- A collection of royalty-free and copyright-free classical music scores and recordings.
- Browse by composer, instrument, time period or music form. Free accounts (up to 5 downloads a day) and paid accounts available.

The Library provides access to databases and mobile apps for high quality information and authoritative evidence, ensuring timely and effective access to medical and health care information.

Browse all Databases, access user guides, and view the access status of all databases and library products.

A-Z Databases and Apps