Skip to Main Content
Monash Health Library
If you have an exact title add ti= (eg. ti=Emergency Medicine)

Read by QxMDClick here to chat with a librarian

Read by QxMD is a mobile app and email alerting service you can use to track research and journal articles as they are published. It gives you easy, mobile access to medical journals and allows you to set up a customised newsfeed based on the specialities, favourite journals and keyword searches you set up.

Read monitors all PubMed journals and is integrated with our library subscriptions (as long as you connect to Monash Health in the app's institutional settings). When we don't have an article in your newsfeed, you can request this by emailing the library from within the app. In additional to our library subscriptions, Read will automatically connect you with open access articles. 

  

Instructions

  1. Create an individual login at: https://readbyqxmd.com.
  2. Download the Read by QxMD mobile app.
  3. Sign in using the individual log in you created in Step 1.

After downloading the app and creating an individual login, follow the below steps to set you preferences.

  1. Open the app
  2. Click the Get Started button
  3. Complete the Personalization form
  • Profession - e.g. Physician
  • Specialty - e.g. Cardiology
  • Location - Australia
  1. Click Continue
  2. Add Other Specialities (Optional)
  3. Click Continue, or Skip
  4. Add Journals, Collections and Keywords (Optional)
  5. Click Continue, or Skip
  6. Sign Up with Email
  • First Name
  • Last Name
  • Email (Monash Health email)
  • Password
  1. Click Create Account
  2. Check the email confirmation in your Monash Health account

PDF InstructionsRead by qxMD Instructions 

The below video provides an introduction to Read by QxMD.

QxMD, Read by QxMD, Jul 24 2019, 1min21s

Connect to Monash Health Subscriptions from Read by QxMD

Firstly, follow the instructions in the previous tab on setting up an individual account and the mobile app.

You can then set up institutional access:

  1. Click the Settings button in the top left hand corner of the mobile app
  2. Click Institutional Access
  3. Search and select Monash Health (Australia)
  4. Select Automatic Login Using Library Login
  • Username = employee no.
  • Password = current IT login
  1. Click Continue

Email alerts

In the app:

  1. Click the Settings button in the top left hand corner of the screen
  2. Click Settings
  3. Under Content Settings, select either:
  • Specialities to Follow
  • Journals to Follow
  • Collections to Follow
  • Keywords to Follow
  1. Search/select/enter the specialities/journals/collections/keywords you wish to receive notifications/alerts for
  2. Click Done (or tick)
  3. Under Account Settings, select App Settings & Information (App Settings on Android)
  4. The following settings can be adjusted:
  • Automatic PDF Download
  • Download Finished Notification
  • Color Code Papers by Paper Type
  • Attach PDF when Emailing Papers
  • Notification Settings: Push & Email Notifications
  1. Click Done (or tick)

Add articles to a Collection

In the app:

  1. Click the search icon (bottom right hand corner of the screen)
  2. Enter search term and click Search
  3. Select the article you wish to add to a collection
  4. Click on the symbol at the top of the article
  5. Select the Add to My Collection link
  6. For a new collection, Enter the Collection Name. Otherwise select an existing collection from the list
  7. Repeat previous steps for other articles as required

Share a Collection

In the app:

  1. Click the symbol (bottom of the app screen)
  2. The Saved Papers view will display with a list of My Personal Collections
  3. Select Publish next to the collection you wish to share
  4. Alongside the Visibility setting, tap PRIVATE to change the setting to PUBLIC
  5. Enter a Description (optional)
  6. Click Done

Follow a Collection

In the app:

  1. Click the Settings button in the top left hand corner of the screen.
  2. Click Settings
  3. Under Content Settings:
  • Select Collections to Follow
  • Enter a search term in the Search for a Public Collection box, and click the Search button
  1. Select the Collection you wish to follow by clicking in the tick box next to the collection
  2. Click Done

Monash Health acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land, the Wurundjeri and Boonwurrung peoples, and we pay our respects to them, their culture and their Elders past, present and future.

We are committed to creating a safe and welcoming environment that embraces all backgrounds, cultures, sexualities, genders and abilities.