Skip to Main Content
Monash Health Library
If you have an exact title add ti= (eg. ti=Emergency Medicine)

Writing, Referencing & PublishingClick here to chat with a librarian

Find information and guidance on publishing research, research writing, referencingcopyright and creative commonsscholarly journals, and open access publishing. Access eBooks on writing and publishing, medical writing, and data. If you have suggestions for additional guides or require research assistance, contact us at library@monashhealth.org.

These are the most commonly used styles at Monash Health:

Wondering how to cite clinical practice guidelines in APA 7th? Read this Clinical Practice References guide by APA Style.

Need more APA 7th Edition help? See resources below:


EndNote is a reference management system that helps students and researchers collect, store, manage and share resources. Go to the EndNote user guide for instructions and videos on adding references, finding full text, creating groups, sharing an EndNote library and managing citations & bibliographies. Register for an upcoming EndNote training session via our calendar of events.

EndNote User Guide

Library Webinars Calendar


Obtain an EndNote license

You can obtain an EndNote desktop license through Monash Health, purchase approval from your Monash Health supervisor or manager is required. The procurement process is through the MH IT Online Shop. Please see instructions here.  

Good news!  EndNote 20 software is available on all PCs in Monash Health libraries.

EndNote Online is a free, simplified online version of the EndNote Desktop. You can access EndNote Online on any device, effectively allowing you to access, manage and share your references from any computer. 

In this section:

  • Create an online account
  • Sync your EndNote Online to EndNote desktop
  • Add/Import references
  • Export results from a database 
  • Cite While You Write - using EndNote Online

Create an online Account

There are two ways to create an account:

Via web browser:

  1. Go to http://my.endnote.com
  2. Click on 'Register'
  3. Follow the prompts to create your new account with your Monash Health (or other affiliated institute's) email address.

Via EndNote Desktop:

  1. Open EndNote on your Desktop
  2. Click > Edit > Preferences > Sync > Enable Sync
  3. If you don't already have an EndNote online account click > Sign Up
  4. Follow the prompts to create your account
  5. You can now open your browser and login to your online account -  http://my.endnote.com

Note: You must complete the 'Via EndNote Desktop' steps if you want to sync your desktop library to your online account.. 


Sync libraries

Once registered you have access to your references from any computer with an internet connection. You can also Sync your desktop and online libraries. 

Important!! It is recommended you make a backup copy before starting synchronisation

  • Open EndNote on your Desktop
  • Click on  in the top left hand side or go to Tools >  Sync
  • Click on Sync icon 

Tips!!

  • You can only Sync one of your EndNote Desktop libraries to your online account. The one that you have "Enabled" 
  • EndNote Online or EndNote Desktop are a mirror of each other and both versions reflect changes you have made in either. EG. If you have added references into EndNote Desktop and added different references into EndNote Online, all references that you have added will be present in both versions once you have Synced. If you edit or delete a reference from one account the reference will be edited or deleted in the other once you have synced.
  • All references and groups will be synchronized, BUT group sets, smart groups, and combination (from) groups will not be displayed in your online library.

The following quick reference guides outline the steps for configuring EndNote Sync (for Windows and macOS).


Add a new Reference to online library

Click the Collect tab New reference

  1. Select the reference type from the drop down menu
  2. Fill in required information for your style. 
  3. Click Save 
  4. There is no Preview function - you can only see how your record displays when the reference list is created.

Export results from a database 

Export references from your databases search results to EndNote Online.

1. Mark selected records
2. Look for a Save or Export option in the database
3. If given options, choose full records and EndNote format e.g. RIS 
4. Save the file to your Downloads folder (or somewhere you can find it)
5. In EndNote Online - click Collect  - Import References
6. Select the database filter to allow your records to be imported correctly.


Cite While You Write - using EndNote Online

You can enter citations and a bibliography in a word document using your EndNote Online library.  However, you cannot use this feature simultaneously with both applications.  Follow these steps to set up your word document so that it will connect with your EndNote Online library: 

  1. In Word, click on the EndNote tab in your top ribbon
  2. Select Preferences – a box will appear
  3. Click on the Application > Select EndNote Online
  4. Enter your EndNote online login details. NB: You may need to enter the online subscription URL -  https://my.endnote.com
  5. Insert citations to your word document as you normally would from the EndNote ribbon

!!! When you return to your EndNote desktop, repeat these steps but chose application - EndNote 

Mendeley is a free online reference management tool which can be accessed via desktop** and web applications. It lets you create, store and manage your own libraries and add citations when writing and incorporates social media functions for researchers.

**Mendeley Desktop retiring 1st September 2022 - More info here

NEW Mendeley Reference Manager - web application:

  • Work in different locations and on any device. Just login and go.
  • Automatic sync with changes backed up in the cloud.
  • Insert citations while writing in Microsoft Word.
  • Organize all your references in one library using collections and tags.
  • Built-in notebook helps you keep your thoughts organized in one place.
  • Annotate and highlight text from PDFs as you read them.
  • Collaborate with others in real time –  share and annotate papers alongside team members in private group.

Important Downloads

  • Reference Manager - create an online account to access online library.
  • Web Importer - Adding this extension to your browser enables you to easily build your library of references as you search online. Access full-text research with one click where available.
  • Mendeley Cite Plug-in - generate citations and bibliographies and change citation style in just a few clicks in Microsoft Word.

 

Mendeley, 2020, The new Mendeley Reference Manager, YouTube, 29 September

Adding items to your Mendeley Library

By dragging and dropping a PDF file or a folder of PDF files onto the Mendeley Reference Manager or Mendeley Web, papers can be added to your library. You can also add files and folders by choosing the 'Add new' option on the interface. Mendeley will read the details in the file and automatically create a library entry for each file.

Further instructions, information and support can be located on the Mendeley website.


Import Citations

Citation libraries from other reference management software applications such as EndNote, Refworks, Jabref and Zotero can be imported into Mendeley.

To export an existing library from your current software application, locate the export option, and decide whether you want to export an individual citation, or an entire list. When saving your file, keep in mind that the following file types are supported by Mendeley:

  • BibTeX

  • RIS

  • Endnote XML


Import to Mendeley

In both Mendeley Reference Manager and Mendeley Web, click on the 'Import library' option from the Add New menu. Locate the file you exported from the other application, select it, and click the "Open" button. Your exported items should then be filed in your Mendeley library.

Please note that PDF files are not included in the exportation - you will need to manually add the PDF file for each citation.


Using the Mendeley Citation Plugin

The Mendeley Citation Plugin allows you to cite and reference materials in your Mendeley library. You can cite as you write and update your bibliography at the same time. This plugin is compatible with Microsoft Word or Libre Office on Windows or Mac.

You will need to have installed the Mendeley Reference Manager before you can install the Mendeley Citation Plugin. The 'Install Mendeley Cite for Microsoft Word' option can be found under the Tools menu of the Mendeley Reference Manager:

Once installed, the Mendeley plugin can be accessed via the References tab in Microsoft Word with the name, Cite with Mendeley, displayed underneath. Click on the icon to begin inserting in-text citations and references.

To insert an in-text citation, search for a reference in the search bar and select the reference by ticking the box on the left-hand side. Click 'Insert citation'. The citation will appear at the cursor location in the word document.

To insert a reference, select 'Insert Bibliography' under the More drop-down menu. The reference will appear at the cursor location in the word document.


Further help and support

Visit the Mendeley website for help and information on installing and using the plugin.

 Zotero is a free online reference management tool which can be used on desktop and mobile devices. It collects citations, lets you to create your own libraries for storage and management. It can be used for sharing citations in your study, research and group work. It can search, save and store relevant references while you are using online resources.

To use Zotero, you will require both the Zotero application and the Zotero Connector, an application allowing you to save directly to Zotero from your preferred web browser.


UNC Park Library, 2019, Using Zotero, YouTube, 20 February

Adding items to your Zotero Library

The best way to add items to Zotero is through the Zotero Connector, an application that allows you to save directly to Zotero from your preferred web browser.

Through the use of the Connector, Zotero will automatically find bibliographic information on webpages you visit and allow you to add it to Zotero with a single click. The 'save' button will turn into an icon representing the media you're viewing (the image below shows the save icon for a journal article).

Clicking the save button will create an item in Zotero with the information that Zotero has identified. If it is available, Zotero will also save any PDF accessible from the page or an open-access PDF that can be found for the saved item.

Further instructions, information and support can be located on the Zotero website.


Import Citations

Citation libraries from other reference management software applications such as EndNote, Refworks, and Mendeley can be imported into Zotero.

To export an existing library from your current software application, locate the export option, and decide whether you want to export an individual citation, or an entire list. When saving your file, keep in mind that the following file types are supported by Zotero:

  • CSL JSON

  • MODS (Metadata Object Description Schema)

  • BibTeX

  • RIS

  • Refer/BibIX

  • Unqualified Dublin Core RDF

  • Endnote XML

  • XML ContextObject

  • Web of Science Tagged

  • MEDLINE/nbib


Import to Zotero

In Zotero, choose the "Import" option from the File menu. Locate the file you exported from the other application, select it, and click the "Open" button. Your exported items should then be filed in your Zotero library in a date-stamped collection.

Please note that PDF files are not included in the exportation - you will need to manually add the PDF file for each citation.

Further information

Listed below are detailed instructions on importing records from the following software applications:


Using Zotero with Word Processor Programs

By using ‘word processor plugins’ – including Word, LibreOffice and Google Docs, you can have new citations placed in your document whilst working on it, at the same time automatically updating your bibliography.

Microsoft Word Plugin

Installing the Zotero plugin will add a "Zotero" tab to the top toolbar of Microsoft Word. The tab contains the following options:

Add/Edit Citation Add a new citation or edit an existing citation in your document at the cursor location.
Add/Edit Bibliography Insert a bibliography at the cursor location or edit an existing bibliography.
Document Preferences Open the Document Preferences window, e.g. to change the citation style.
Refresh Refresh all citations and the bibliography, updating any item metadata that has changed in your Zotero library.
Unlink Citations Unlink Zotero citations in the document by removing the field codes. This prevents any further automatic updates of the citations and bibliographies.
Note that removing field codes is irreversible, and should usually only be done in a final copy of your document.

 


‚ÄčGoogle Docs Plugin

Support for Google Docs requires use of the Zotero Connector, an application allowing you to save directly to Zotero from your preferred web browser. Use of the Zotero Connector adds a new menu to the Google Docs interface:

 

The menu provides the following options:

Add/Edit Citation Add a new citation or edit an existing citation in your document at the cursor location.
Add/Edit Bibliography Insert a bibliography at the cursor location or edit an existing bibliography.
Preferences Open the Document Preferences window, e.g. to change the citation style.
Refresh Refresh all citations and the bibliography, updating any item metadata that has changed in your Zotero library.
Unlink Citations Unlink Zotero citations in the document by removing the field codes. This prevents any further automatic updates of the citations and bibliographies.
Note that removing field codes is irreversible and should usually only be done in a final copy of your document.

 


Further help and support

Go to the Zotero Guide To Word Processor Integration and Plugins for Zotero for help and further information.

 RefWorks is a web-based reference management tool which lets you create, store, organise and share your references.

Monash Health employees have access to RefWorks.

Instructions for new users:

  1. Go to the RefWorks website and click on the 'Sign Up for a New Account' link at the bottom of the login page. If you are onsite, the webpage will be able to detect Monash Health's IP addresses automatically.
  2. Enter email address twice.
  3. Enter login name - usually auto-filled with your email address when you click on the field.
  4. Enter password twice.
  5. Click Next.
  6. Enter your name, area of focus and type of user.
  7. Click 'Create Account'.

Adding items and importing citations to RefWorks

References can be manually added or imported. To manually add a reference, go to 'References' -> 'Add New'. Fill in the appropriate fields in the new window and click 'Save Reference'. 

Citation libraries from other reference management applications such as EndNote and Zotero can be imported into RefWorks. To export an existing library from your current software application, locate the export option, and decide whether you want to export an individual citation, or an entire list. When saving your file, keep in mind that the following file types are support by RefWorks:

  • BibTeX
  • RIS
  • Endnote ENL

Import to RefWorks

Go to 'References' -> 'Import'. Under 'Import Filter/Data Source' and 'Database', select the appropriate file type (e.g. BibTeX, RIS or EndNote). Locate the file you exported from the other application and click 'Import'. Your references will appear in the 'Last Imported' folder in RefWorks.


Further help and support

Go to the RefWorks page for further help and information. 

Monash Health acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land, the Wurundjeri and Boonwurrung peoples, and we pay our respects to them, their culture and their Elders past, present and future.

We are committed to creating a safe and welcoming environment that embraces all backgrounds, cultures, sexualities, genders and abilities.