If you have an exact title add ti= (eg. ti=Emergency Medicine)
The Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) runs the IHI Open School, which provides online courses in improvement methodology, a large video library, and even games and exercises.
Click the button below to visit the IHI Open School and view its video library. Contact the Monash Health Quality & Safety Unit for information about registering for IHI Open School courses.
BMJ Learning includes hundreds of interactive, peer-reviewed learning modules, written by experts from BMJ. BMJ Learning is accredited by the Australian College of Nursing and the Royal Australasian College of Physicians. Earn CME credit for completing courses.
BMJ Learning is available to all Monash Health employees. Click here for instructions on how to register for an account.
Recommended content:
Monash Health - Latte eLearning
Latte offers the following module which includes content on implementing improvements:
Log into Latte using your Monash Health username and password.
Monash Health Library provides educational resources, group training, webinars and individual consultations on evidence-based practice including guidance on literature searching, appraising and managing search results.
Custom training sessions can be arranged to fit with a team meeting or existing professional development schedule. Email library@monashhealth.org for more information.
BMJ Quality Improvement papers
BMJ has a collection of papers on quality improvement in healthcare, which was published in an April 2022 as a special supplement issue. Click the button below to browse the collection, read specific articles online, or download the complete collection as a free PDF.
BMJ Quality Improvement Collection
Key Journals
Below is a list of key journals for quality improvement.
Quality improvement in healthcare (11 mins 8 secs)
Dr Mike Evans, a doctor working at St Michael's Hospital in Ontario, Canada, provides an overview of quality improvement in general and as it relates to healthcare.
Using quality improvement methods to reduce falls in hospital (12 mins 35 secs)
A member of an NHS improvement team talks us through how the Model for Improvement can be used to complete a project to reduce inpatient falls. Using this as a case study, they discuss issues including measuring falls and process mapping.
Don Goldmann - 7 rules for engaging clinicians in quality improvement (6 mins 50 secs)
In this video from the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI), Dr Goldmann offers practical ways to engage clinicians when discussing quality improvement projects.
Presenting improvement projects (11 mins 54 secs)
This video -- from the Stanford Medicine Center for Improvement -- outlines how to effectively present quality improvement projects in healthcare. Learn how to structure your presentation, engage your audience, and seek or provide feedback.
WIHI - A podcast from the Institute for Healthcare Improvement
Designed to help dedicated legions of healthcare improvers worldwide keep up with some of the freshest and most robust thinking and strategies for improving health and patient care. Although it has not been updated since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic, check out their past episodes.
Improve Healthcare
Hosted by Dr Rich Greenhill, featured guests share national and international perspectives on a range of topics that impact the healthcare delivery continuum.
Walk and Talk Improvement
A podcast from Northern Ireland which aims to improve patient care by capturing the personal stories of people who work in and use health services regarding patient safety and quality improvement.
PSQH: The podcast
The Editor-in-Chief of the Patient Safety & Quality Healthcare website hosts this bi-weekly podcast on current topics in patient safety and quality. Find more episodes on Soundcloud or Apple Podcasts.
Monash Health acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land, the Wurundjeri and Boonwurrung peoples, and we pay our respects to them, their culture and their Elders past, present and future.
We are committed to creating a safe and welcoming environment that embraces all backgrounds, cultures, sexualities, genders and abilities.
