If you have an exact title add ti= (eg. ti=Emergency Medicine)
Embase is an extensive citation database covering biomedical and pharmacological topics provided by Ovid. It includes all citations in the MEDLINE database, as well as conference abstracts, over 2900 extra journals, and additional European, pharmacy, drug and medical device coverage.
Benefits of My Account in Ovid
Set up a personal account with Ovid for additional features, to save searches and set up alerts. To set this up:
This will allow you to save searches and set up alerts. Follow step by step instructions below.
The below video provides an overview and introduction to Embase.
Searching
Identifying Search Terms - How to search in a clinical database like Embase. Embase uses Emtree subject headings.
Literature Search in Ovid - How to create a search in an Ovid database such as Embase.
Boolean Operators by Database Platform chart - What boolean Operators are and how to use them in a database search.
Save a Search and Create an Alert
In Ovid you can save a search that you have created.
This means you can repeat the search at a later time, share the search with others and have a saved copy you can make changes to as you search.
You can also create an auto-alert which will let you know when more articles related to your search have been added to the database.
Follow the step by step instructions to save a search in Ovid.
To limit to part of years in Embase:
- Use the Date Delivered (.dd.) field:
o Limit x to dd=20200715-20201215
- The following syntax can also be used:
o Eg: For articles published 13-19 July 2020 ([13-7-2020]/sd NOT [20-7-2020]/sd OR ([13-7-2020]/aip NOT [20-7-2020]/aip) sd = date added to Embase aip = article in press/in process entry date You can also use 'py' for publication year.
Selecting & exporting results
Results can be printed, emailed or exported to a reference manager, Word or Excel.
Please note that Embase can only export 1000 results at a time. For exporting large numbers of results export them in batches of 1000. For more information about how to export results from medline, Embase, Emcare or PsycInfo please watch this video about exporting results.
Follow step by step instructions below
Full Text
Not all results within Embase will link to a full-text option. If there is no full-text download option available, please get in touch with the library. Use the Article Request Form when searching for articles on the library website or email the library at library@monashhealth.org for help accessing articles.
Download LibKey Nomad in your preferred browser to find full-text PDFs quickly and easily. After downloading the browser extension, set your organisation to 'Monash Health Library'. When exporting database results in Embase, a LibKey Link will be added to your Word or Excel file.
See our one page guide for accessing full-text journal articles through the library.
Monash Health Library provides educational resources, group training, webinars and individual consultations on evidence based practice including guidance on literature searching, appraising and managing search results.
Can’t attend our live webinars?
Custom training sessions can be arranged to fit with a team meeting or existing professional development schedule. Email library@monashhealth.org for more information.
Monash Health acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land, the Wurundjeri and Boonwurrung peoples, and we pay our respects to them, their culture and their Elders past, present and future.
We are committed to creating a safe and welcoming environment that embraces all backgrounds, cultures, sexualities, genders and abilities.
