Clinical Guides: Emcare User Guide: User Guide

Emcare

Emcare is an extensive citation database covering nursing and allied health topics, ideal for practice, research, or education. It includes over 5 million records and 2800 titles not available on other leading nursing databases. At Monash Health we access Emcare via the Ovid platform. Emcare expands on nursing content in the Embase database, which is also on the Ovid platform and uses the same Emtree subject headings.

Benefits of My Account in Ovid

Set up a personal account with Ovid for additional features, to save searches and set up alerts. To set this up:

Click on the database from the Library's database page.
Select "My Account" from the top right corner of the page.
Select "Create Account", fill in the required fields and click "Create".

Follow step by step instructions below

The video below provides an overview and introduction to Emcare.

Searching

Identifying Search Terms - How to search in a clinical database like Emcare. Emcare uses Emtree subject headings.

Literature Search in Ovid - How to create a search in an Ovid database such as Emcare.

Boolean Operators by Database Platform chart - What boolean Operators are and how to use them in a database search.

Save a Search and Create an Alert

Saving searches:

Perform search.
Select "Save All" from bottom of search history.
Name your search.

Re-running saved searches:

When you are logged into the database select "View Saved" on top right of screen.
Tick the box against the search or alert that you would like to rerun, and select "Run"(At the top of the screen).

Create an alert:

Perform search or access a saved search.
Check that the majority of results are relevant. Search alerts are only recommended for specific and focussed searches.
Hover mouse over "More" on the right-hand side of the last line of your search.
Select "Create Auto-Alert".
Select the frequency and format in which you would like to receive results.

Follow step by step instructions below

Selecting & exporting results

Results can be printed, emailed or exported to a reference manager, Word or Excel.

Please note that Emcare can only export 1000 results at a time. For exporting large numbers of results export them in batches of 1000. For more information about how to export results from medline, Embase, Emcare or PsycInfo please watch this video about exporting results.

Follow step by step instructions below

Full Text

Not all results within Emcare will link to a full-text option. If there is no full-text download option available, please get in touch with the library. Use the Article Request Form when looking for articles on the library website or email the library at library@monashhealth.org for help accessing articles.

Download LibKey Nomad in your preferred browser to find full-text PDFs quickly and easily. After downloading the browser extension, set your organisation to 'Monash Health Library'. When exporting database results in Embase, a LibKey Link will be added to your Word or Excel file.

See our one page guide for accessing full-text journal articles through the library.

monash health library logo

Monash Health Library provides educational resources, group training, webinars and individual consultations on evidence based practice including guidance on literature searching, appraising and managing search results.

Can’t attend our live webinars?

The library has a selection of recorded webinars available in Latte.
Consider requesting group training for your team at a time that suits you.

Custom training sessions can be arranged to fit with a team meeting or existing professional development schedule. Email library@monashhealth.org for more information.