As a Monash Health employee or researcher, your search is likely to begin in a database offered via Ovid.

What is Ovid?

Ovid is a powerful search platform that is used search across a range of literature databases. At Monash Health, the following databases open in the Ovid search platform: 

• MEDLINE
• Embase
• Emcare
• APA PsycInfo

How to search databases using Ovid at Monash Health

Watch the webinar recording below for a step-by-step demonstration of conducting a search using Ovid.

If you are searching MEDLINE, our MEDLINE Advanced User Guide also offers detailed guidance.

MEDLINE Advanced User Guide

Literature database essentials: Skills every researcher needs to know! [39 mins] by Monash Health Library (2024, May 28)

Comprehensive webinar on searching using Ovid. Covers field codes, truncation, wildcards, adjacency, subject headings and translating across Ovid databases. 

Shortcuts for efficient searching on Ovid

Incorporating these shortcuts into your keywords can help you to search efficiently for spelling variations and differences in phrasing. Click here to open a PDF version of the table.

Note: These 'shortcuts' are known as search operators or syntax. They are, in effect, a language that we can use to 'talk' to search platforms and databases. Different search platforms and databases speak in slightly different languages. See the Quick reference syntax table below for more information.

Quick reference syntax table

Refer to the table below when adapting your search from one database (or search platform) to another. Note that all Ovid databases -- MEDLINE, Embase, Emcare, and PsycINFO -- use the same syntax and search operators.

What are limits? 

Once you have completed your search, you may choose to narrow the results further by applying limits (sometimes called filters) available within the database. Common limits include:

• publication year or date range, e.g. 2014 - 2024
• language
• publication type, e.g. systematic review, case report.
  • Note: see also pre-built study design filters, covered in Consider pre-built searches.

You can apply multiple limits where needed, but first consider the points below.

Considerations

• Applying a "Full text" limit is not recommended. This limit prevents you from finding articles that may be accessed through other databases, or that you could request from the library.
• Using too many limits or poorly chosen limits may restrict your results too much.
• Depending on the nature of your research, you may have to justify any limit you add to your search, including a language or date limit.

Limits in Ovid

In Ovid databases -- MEDLINE, Embase, Emcare, and PsycINFO -- common limit options are found beneath the search bar. Click on the 'Additional Limits' button to open further limit options, such as clinical queries, publication types, and age groups.

Limits in Cochrane Library

In Cochrane Library, click the 'Limit' button on the final search line to open limit options such as content type (review, trial, protocol) and publication date. 

Alternatively, view your search results and select from the 'Filter your results' menu to the left. The publication date filter is shown as one example.

Other databases

In many other databases, limits or filters are found along the left-hand side of your search results.

The Library's Databases for Literature Searching page has user guides for a wide range of other databases. 

Databases for Literature Searching

Why should you save your search?

Saving your search within the database or search platform itself allows you to: 

• Save your progress as you go -- running an effective search takes time.
• Easily re-run the search to find new results at a later date.
• Re-use your previous searches if you need to search again on a similar topic.

How to save searches in the Ovid platform

Watch the video below (2 mins 20 secs) or follow the written steps underneath.

Create an account

In order to save your searches you will need to first create a free personal account for the search platform in question. E.g. a free personal Ovid account or Cochrane Library account. 

Saving a search in Ovid

1. Log into your Ovid account.
2. Perform a search.
3. Select "Save All" from bottom of search history.
4. Name your search. 
5. Click "Save".

Tip: When naming your search, it's a good idea to include the name of the database that the search was developed for.

Re-running a saved search in Ovid

1. Log into your Ovid account.
2. Open "My Workspace" from the top menu bar.
3. Click "My Searches & Alerts". 
4. Tick the correct search and click "Run".
5. Double-check that the correct "Resource" (database) is selected.

Other databases

See our database user guides for other database-specific guidance on how to save and re-run your searches.

Databases for Literature Searching

What are search alerts?

You can elect to receive new results matching your search by email. If new relevant papers are added to the database, you will receive an email alert.

How to set up search alerts in Ovid

To set up search alerts for databases in Ovid, you will need to have a free personal Ovid account. While logged into your Ovid account, follow the steps below.

1. Perform search or access a saved search.
2. Check that the majority of results are relevant. Search alerts are only recommended for specific and focused searches.
3. Hover mouse over "More" on the right-hand side of the last line of your search.
4. Select "Create Auto-Alert".
5. Select the frequency and format in which you would like to receive results.

See our Keeping Up To Date guide for information about setting up search alerts.

Keeping Up To Date Guide

Can't find the answer to your question? The Monash Health Library team is here to help -- email us or use our live online chat (Mon-Fri).

Q: How many search results should I aim for?

There is no 'right' number of results for a literature search. Whether your search finds 2 papers or 200 can depend on many factors, including:

• the purpose of your research and the scope of your research question
• how much literature has been published on your topic, and any gaps in the research

However, a very high or very low number of search results can also indicate issues with your search strategy, such as:

• Accidental use of OR to combine different concepts instead of AND. See Combine search terms
• Inappropriate use of truncation on keywords, e.g. act*. See above section Search using Ovid for truncation tips.

Review your search carefully, and contact the Library for advice if you are unsure (see Library assistance below).

Q: How do I know if my search is working correctly?

As you work on your search in each database, it is important to check the search results as you go. Check to see if your results mostly contain relevant papers which address (or are related to) your research question -- this is a key indication that your search has been effective.

If not, consider the following:

• Were you aware of one or more highly relevant papers prior to beginning your search?
  • If so, these papers should be included in your results -- their absence may indicate issues with your search.
  • If not, do your results contain at least 1-2 highly relevant papers? This suggests the search has been effective in finding relevant papers. 
     
• Do your search results include any review articles (e.g. literature reviews, systematic reviews, scoping reviews) on your topic? 
  • If so, these reviews may lead you to relevant papers OR the authors may have identified gaps in the literature.
  • If not, this may be an indication that there is a lack of existing primary research on your topic OR that your search could be improved.

Library assistance

Still not sure if your search is working? The Library offers a range of research support options, including feedback on your literature search. You can request support via this online form.

Request research support