Skip to Main Content
Monash Health Library
Journals A-Z | Renew Your Loans | New eBooks | Mind & Matter
If you have an exact title add ti= (eg. ti=Emergency Medicine)

Literature Searching GuideClick here to chat with a librarian

The Literature Searching guide shows you how to complete an effective literature search from beginning to end. Use the tabs at the top of the page to navigate through the guide. 

Remember: the Library team provides a range of research support services to Monash Health employees and students. Attend a live webinar, book a research consultation, or request a literature search and get in touch with the Library team if you have any questions.

Search results can be exported from all major databases available via Monash Health Library. Exporting results is a key step in managing your results and preparing for later stages of your research, such as screening and writing.

First, a note about accessing full-text

You can access the full-text of individual articles from the search results, either before or after you export.

How to access full-text articles

How to export

See our 1-page summary of how to export search results from Ovid (Medline, Embase, Emcare, and APA PsycInfo), Cochrane Library, and ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health. Note: Ovid databases allow you to export a maximum of 1,000 results at a time. If you have more than 1,000 results you must export in batches i.e. 1-1000 then 1001- 2000 and so on.

Downloading & Exporting Database Results

For other databases, see the relevant database user guide in the A-Z List.

Databases and Apps A-Z

Choosing a file format

Most large databases will let you export results in a variety of file formats, e.g. Ovid offers 13 different options. Before selecting one or more file formats, consider the following:

  • Reference management -- be sure to export your results in a format compatible with your preferred reference manager. If in doubt, see our Referencing guide and export in multiple file formats.
  • Next steps in your research -- e.g. to screen your results in Covidence, you will need to import them as either an EndNote XML file or RIS text file.
  • Long-term preservation -- see our guidance on File Formats and Version Control.

Monash Health acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land, the Wurundjeri and Boonwurrung peoples, and we pay our respects to them, their culture and their Elders past, present and future.

We are committed to creating a safe and welcoming environment that embraces all backgrounds, cultures, sexualities, genders and abilities.