Clinical Guides: Monash Health Library Newsletter: January 2024

Library News

Happy New Year from the Library team!

Litmaps Pro trial
Litmaps is search tool that uses visualisations and mapping to help you explore the literature and uncover new papers on a given topic. Monash Health employees can sign up for our Litmaps Pro trial, which runs from 22nd January to 22nd April. Sign up in two steps:

Go to app.litmaps.com and click “Create Free Account”
Sign up using your @monashhealth.org email address

To get the most out of Litmaps Pro, join us for an instructional webinar on Monday, 5th February at 12:30pm.

MMC book launch
Beyond Evidence-Based Medicine: Clinical Pearls from Experienced Physicians is a new book edited by Dr Ralph Junckerstorff (General Medicine Unit, MMC), that features contributions from other Monash Health clinicians. Each chapter presents a different case, illustrating clinical pearls and finishing with a discussion and practical tips. We were thrilled to host the book launch in MMC Library. Read the eBook version now.

NEW! Spotlight on Databases webinar series
The first installment of our new webinar series, Spotlight on Databases, will show you how to make the most of AccessMedicine and AccessEmergency. These core databases have a wealth of textbooks, multimedia, infographics, and study tools such as case files and flashcards. The 30-minute webinar runs on Tuesday, 20th February at 3pm – register here.

New Books

Our collection is always evolving. See a full list of our new books here.

Davidson's principles and practice of medicine, 24th Ed.
Describes the pathophysiology and clinical features of the most frequently encountered conditions in the major specialties of adult medicine, and explains how to recognise, investigate, diagnose, and manage them.
Drain's perianesthesia nursing: a critical care approach, 8th Ed.
Provides comprehensive clinical content tailored specifically for perianesthesia nurses. An easy-to-use format with five distinct sections -- covering the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations.
How innovation works
Author Matt Ridley chronicles the history of innovation and argues we need to see it as an incremental, bottom-up, fortuitous process that happens to society as a direct result of the human habit of exchange.
The grieving brain
From grief expert and neuroscientist Mary-Frances O'Connor PhD, The Grieving Brain utilizes cutting-edge research to guide us through how our brains process love and loss – and how we can learn to heal.

Library Favourites

Research data management (RDM)
Our new visual overview to RDM outlines the key steps involved in research data management. Click the links for further guidance on each step – such as creating a data management plan – all of which can be found in our Research Toolkit.

Clinical Resource Guides
Calling all new clinicians: remember to bookmark the Clinical Resource Guide for your specialty.

Junior Doctors Guide – offers JMS key apps, handbooks, training, and more.
Pharmacy Resource Guide – pharmacists’ portal to essential resources.
Nursing Resource Guide – everything a nurse needs, from ACORN Standards to Nursing Times.
Midwifery Resource Guide – homebase for midwives, including key books and journals.

Laptop borrowing
Are you working on the go? You might be hotdesking at another site, working on a research project, or need a device for collaboration or virtual care. If you need a Monash Health laptop, you can borrow one from MMC Library. If you are based in Casey or Dandenong, visit your onsite library to borrow a networked Surface Go (Microsoft tablet).

Just Published

Below is a selection of recently published clinical practice guidelines available via the Trip Database.

A Guideline for the Clinical Management of Opioid Use Disorder – British Columbia Centre on Substance Use, Canada
Consensus antiemetic guidelines related to integrative and non-pharmacological therapies – MASCC/ESMO
Treatment of Acute Hyperkalaemia in Adults – UK Kidney Association
Evidence-based Management of Thumb Base Osteoarthritis – British Society for Surgery of the Hand
Perineal care – Clinical Excellence Queensland, Queensland Health
Guidelines for the management of severe community-acquired pneumonia – European Respiratory Society
Clinical Practice Guidelines for the Reduction of Venous Thromboembolic Disease in Colorectal Surgery – ASCRS
Cerebrovascular Diseases-Stroke and Stroke-Related Conditions – American College of Radiology

Explore more clinical guidelines and evidence-based synopses in Trip.

Insights from Library Journals

Read our full-text journals in BrowZine.

The PROSPECT model offers an early prediction of post-ICU health problems using data from the first 48 hours in the ICU. Developed and validated by Dutch researchers, the model uses five predictors including admission type and fatigue.
In a study of 119 female psychiatric outpatients with past-month suicidal ideation, many demonstrated perimenstrual worsening of psychiatric symptoms, suicidal ideation, and suicidal planning. The authors note the rare size of the study.
How clinicians recognise people who are dying identified 3 categories: Clues and signals; Recognition by others; and Culture, system and practice. The authors call for consistent terminology, and recognising possibility rather than seeking certainty.
Compared to pharmacologic interventions, high dosage omega-3 fatty acids (EPA/DHA) are a more effective and acceptable treatment for migraine prophylaxis. The network meta-analysis included 40 randomised controlled trials (RCTs).
Art therapy for nurses is effective in reducing anxiety, depression, and perceived stress levels, as well as enhancing coping strategies. The meta-analysis included 19 RCTs which investigated interventions such as painting, music, and dance.

Insights from the MHRR

The Monash Health Research Repository (MHRR) is your entry-point to research published by Monash Health employees. Search for papers on a specific subject – such as sepsis – or browse publications by department or researcher.

With applications now open for the Monash Health 2024 Emerging Researcher Fellowships, you may be preparing a project proposal and searching for relevant literature on your topic. Research support is available via the Library, including one-on-one research consultations – see our overview of support. Related: Research & Grant Proposals Guide.

Selected recent submissions to the MHRR (click on the DOI to check for full-text):