Clinical Guides: Monash Health Library Newsletter: February 2022

Welcome to the February 2022 Monash Health Library newsletter: news and insights from our collection once a month. To subscribe or un-subscribe, email library@monashhealth.org.

As you can see in our Library stats from 2021, last year we had more than 80,000 visits to our new library website. We also had over 246,000 downloads from our curated set of health databases, including full text articles and eBook chapters. Explore our full text journals in BrowZine, see newly added books, or search our catalogue here.

In February we delivered lectures and workshops on literature searching as part of an Evidence-Based Clinical Practice module for Year 3/B MBBS students at Monash University. For Monash Health employees, we run a monthly webinar on Advanced Literature Searching – browse our webinar calendar here.

We are thrilled to welcome to Sian Besselaar, our new part-time Research Librarian! Sian has a wealth of experience in completing complex, targeted literature searches for clinicians and health researchers. To request a literature search, fill in this online form or email us at library@monashhealth.org.

Not long after the return to school, the Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) provisionally approved Moderna’s vaccine for children aged 6+. This article discusses the vaccination of young people against their parents’ wishes from an ethical and legal standpoint. Still on paediatrics, a new flowchart on Disease-modifying treatments for children and adolescents with COVID-19 was recently published by the National COVID-19 Clinical Evidence Taskforce.

A recent report from the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention suggests that the effectiveness of mRNA boosters wanes after 4 months, leading to speculation about our winter season in Australia. In lieu of a crystal ball, we have the Coronavirus 10-day forecast app, built by researchers the University of Melbourne.

Selected COVID-19 articles:

In March 2019, triage nurses in New Zealand were interviewed about preparedness for a hypothetical influenza pandemic, and expressed safety concerns that would later be echoed by healthcare workers during COVID-19.
A newly published systematic review and meta-analysis found that among hospitalised children and young people, “neurological and cardiac comorbidities were associated with the greatest increase in odds of severe disease or death”, as well as obesity.
This BMJ article summarises what we know so far about Omicron and its variations, including the BA.2 variant that appears to be more transmissible.
‘Psychotic disorders amid the COVID-19 pandemic’ reviews evidence of the relationship between the two and looks at how digital interventions might be employed.
Pandemic restrictions – and adjustments made in response to them – may offer lessons for managing challenging behaviour in nursing homes.

Our collection is always evolving. See a full list of our new books here.

Still Not Safe
Physician Robert Wears and organizational theorist Kathleen Sutcliffe trace the origins of patient safety to the emergence of market trends that challenged the place of doctors in the larger medical ecosystem.
Stoelting's anesthesia and co-existing disease, 8e
Noted authority Dr Roberta L. Hines and new editor Dr Stephanie Jones lead a stellar team of contributing authors who provide clear, detailed guidance on successfully managing or avoiding complications stemming from pre-existing conditions.
Turn the ship around! A true story of turning followers into leaders
The captain of a nuclear-powered submarine shares his approach to creating a workplace where everyone takes responsibility for their actions, people are healthier and happier -- and everyone is a leader.
Applied statistical considerations for clinical researchers
This book details intermediate-level statistical methods and frameworks for the clinician and medical researcher with an elementary grasp of health statistics, and focuses on selecting the appropriate statistical method for many scenarios.

Can medicine be cured? : the corruption of a profession

The one thing : the surprisingly simple truth behind extraordinary results

Invisible women: exposing data bias in a world designed for men

Immunity : the science of staying well : the definitive guide to caring for your immune system

Man's search for meaning: the classic tribute to hope from the Holocaust

Atomic habits: an easy & proven way to build good habits & break bad ones

Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies for Giant Leaps in Work and Life

Entangled life : how fungi make our worlds, change our minds and shape our futures

The National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) released a communique on gender disparity in the Investigator Grant scheme, noting that the main factor is “the continuing predominance of male applicants at the most senior levels of the scheme”. Visit the link to register for their webinars on the issue.

An updated report on Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) in Australia outlines developments in policy and practice, including national diagnostic criteria and categories. The report also lists possible clinical features that could be added to the diagnostic criteria (p. 8).

A new report by the Global Commission on Evidence looks at a wide-ranging series of challenges with commentary by experts. Topics include the weaknesses found in many COVID-19 evidence-support systems (p. 67), and equity considerations for societal challenges using the PROGRESS-Plus framework (p. 15).

The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) has updated their journal platform. Remember that you can access Pediatrics – one of our most popular full text journals – via BrowZine, either in your web browser or the app. Create a free account to add your favourite journals to your virtual bookshelf.

UpToDate news: to support the treatment of patients having adverse drug reactions, a new field called Adverse Reactions (Significant): Considerations provides information on the most critical and clinically relevant adverse reactions. Includes inline referencing to in-depth literature.

It may also be time to renew your UpToDate account. Look out for instructions in the email notification from UpToDate, or login to your account when you are on site or using Citrix.

The Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology is now named Research on Child and Adolescent Psychopathology. You can access the journal in the catalogue and BrowZine under the new title.

Explore our range of journals on BrowZine.

From the Archives of Gynecology and Obstetrics, a systematic review on the sensory challenges experienced by women with autism during pregnancy and childbirth. The authors identify other challenges too, including communication and lack of appropriate information.
In Pediatric Cardiology, a systematic review and meta-analysis looking at surgical treatment of primary cardiac tumours in children found a lower mortality rate in patients below 1 year of age. View full text of the latest issue in BrowZine.
This paper in Clinical Radiology reviews mistakes in key vascular findings, and provides educational tips for trainees and non-vascular specialist radiologists while referencing the literature.
An English trial reported in The Lancet Psychiatry found that peer support for discharge from inpatient psychiatric care did not reduce readmission rates in the 12 months post-discharge.
'Improving responses to safety incidents: We need to talk about justice' looks at the nature of justice in the field of patient safety, discussing dilemmas and uncertainties in both policy and practice.