Clinical Guides: Monash Health Library Newsletter: November 2023

Library News

Final training dates
Our last training sessions of 2023 are running between now and mid-December, after which there will be a summer hiatus. Register now using these quick links:

Communicating Research Findings: Creating Research Posters and Visual Abstracts – 30th November, 3:00pm – 4:00pm
Making the most of online resources and the Library – 5th December, 11:00am – 11:20am
Advanced Literature Searching – 12th December, 2:00pm – 3:00pm
EndNote: Demo and Q&A – 13th December, 11:00am – 11:40am

If these times don’t suit, view our range of recorded webinars in Latte.

End-of-year research support
If you need help with literature searching before the new year, we recommend submitting your request ASAP. The turnaround time is 5-10 business days for literature searches and 10-15 business days for evidence reports, and our libraries will have reduced staffing over the holiday period. View an overview of Library research support here.

ED & ICU resources
In November we promoted Emergency Medicine resources and Intensive Care resources with displays in our onsite libraries. For a curated collection of clinical resources – including key journals and online CPD – visit our Emergency Medicine Guide and Intensive Care Guide.

New Books

Our collection is always evolving. See a full list of our new books here.

Textbook of paediatric emergency medicine, 4th Ed.
Covers diagnosis and management of all common presentations, as well as providing practical tips on communicating with both patients and their families. Designed for emergency medicine trainees and nurses.
Geriatric Emergencies
New to our collection, this text addresses physiologic changes, high-risk conditions, and atypical presentations associated with elderly patients in the ED that result in frequent misdiagnosis or delays in diagnosis.
The new breed: How to think about robots
A bold, optimistic exploration of the relationship between robots and humans based on our history with animals, from a renowned MIT researcher in robot ethics.
The Book of Burnout: What It Is, Why It Happens, Who Gets It, and How To Stop It Before It Stops You!
Using humour, straightforward language and illustrations, Bev Aisbett clearly explains what burnout is, who is at risk, how to recognise the danger signs and, finally, how to step back from the brink.

Library Favourites

Writing research proposals
Are you preparing a grant or ethics application? The Research Toolkit – your first stop when embarking on research or a project – includes a Research & Grant Proposals Guide. Along with how-to books, find practical tips, key readings, and short videos & podcasts on how to craft an effective proposal.

BMJ Best Practice
BMJ Best Practice has a new look, plus enhanced autosuggest, more accurate search suggestions, and faster access to related resources. Click the new Your Profile tab to set up CPD/CME tracking and access extra features like the Comorbidities Manager. Watch this demo (4-mins) for more details.

Data analysis software
Select PCs in our Clayton, Dandenong, and Casey libraries have specialty research software: SPSS for quantitative data analysis, and NVivo for qualitative data analysis. Look for the signed PCs or ask at the Library desk. NVivo Transcription services are also available via a ‘pay-as-you-go’ model paid by your department.

Just Published

Below is a selection of recently published reports and data from the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW).

View all recent releases from AIHW here.

Insights from Library Journals

Read our full-text journals in BrowZine.

In patients with PTSD, written exposure therapy (WET) was noninferior to prolonged exposure therapy and was associated with less attrition. Participants in the WET group also received fewer, shorter sessions than the control group.
Evidence-based recommendations for nursing leadership development include management education directed at relationship-focused behaviours, mentorship programs, and communication that promotes shared governance.
Perioperative enteral/oral immunonutrition with arginine, glutamine, and polyunsaturated fatty acids can reduce the morbidity rate in patients undergoing major abdominal surgery, according to a meta-analysis of data from over 8,000 patients.
A systematic review and network meta-analysis found that for patients with breast cancer, yoga is the most effective exercise in relieving cancer-related fatigue, followed by combined exercise, aerobic exercise, and resistance exercise.
Modifications to MDT board rounds in an NHS inpatient geriatric ward saved 25 hours of MDT time each week and increased weekly discharges. Twice daily rounds were replaced with a single midday round plus a 5-10 min MDT morning safety meeting.

Insights from the MHRR

The annual Monash Children’s Allied Health Research Forum was a fantastic start to November, showcasing a wide range of projects driven by passionate clinician-researchers. The list below includes several conference posters from the day – view more in the Monash Health Research Repository (MHRR).

Congratulations to A/Prof Daniel Rolnik on winning the Top Abstract Award at the World Congress of Ultrasound in Obstetrics and Gynaecology! View A/Prof Rolnik’s MHRR Researcher Profile and click ‘Email Alert’ to be notified when new papers – and the above abstract – are added to his publication list.

Selected recent submissions to the MHRR (click on the DOI to check for full-text):

Flexible insulin dosing pilot program: online group based education – S. Berry, E. White, A. Lamendola, J. Welch, & R. Stanislawski (Paediatric Endocrinology and Diabetes; Nutrition and Dietetics)
Promotion of early oral feeding skills in children with intestinal failure – S. Ashley-Jones, J. Winderlich, C. Watson, R. Hinds, E. Giles (Nutrition and Dietetics; Paediatric Gastroenterology)
Supporting skills development for Allied Health assistants working with paediatric patient cohorts – M. Rotherham, L. Whelan, G. DeVincentis, T. Barry, J. Bell, & C. Bulkeley (Workforce, Innovation, Strategy, Education and Research [WISER])
Nursing innovation: Improved perioperative care with a redesigned urological drape – I. Jolayemi (Peri-operative Services)

The MHRR has to be seen to be believed – book a 5-minute lightning demo for your next team meeting by emailing library@monashhealth.org.

Upcoming Webinars

Health Literacy 101 workshop for Monash Health employees – 30th November, 1:00pm-2:30pm
This online workshop offers an introduction to health literacy basics. It will benefit anyone who is involved in communicating health messages, whether it’s training frontline staff in communicating effectively with patients, families and carers or building your team’s capacity to create easy read, plain language materials and resources. Register on Latte, or contact Diane Lattin (Health Literacy Coordinator) for more information.

Library webinars
Can’t find a time that suits? Email library@monashhealth.org to book a custom training session for your team.