Clinical Guides: Monash Health Library Newsletter: January 2023

Library News

Special webinar events: How to write a research paper and How to get your research published have been developed by the Library and Elsevier, a major publisher, exclusively for Monash Health. Presented by an experienced clinician researcher, each webinar offers 60 mins of practical advice, followed by 30 mins for Q&A. The sessions will be held on 22nd February and 22nd March respectively – register via the links above to attend live or receive a link to the recording afterwards.

After a summer hiatus, monthly Library webinars also resume in February. Check the webinar calendar for sessions on a variety of topics, from literature searching to using Canva. For anyone new to Monash Health, we recommend our 20-minute webinar on making the most of online resources and the Library.

Do you use REDCap? Join us for the first monthly meeting of the Monash Health REDCap User Group from 12:30pm – 1pm on Thursday, 2nd February. Visit the SharePoint site for the Teams meeting link (plus training resources) or contact the Library team. The Group is open to all Monash Health employees at any level of REDCap experience. What is REDCap? A secure web application for collecting data that is widely used in health research.

Finally, a very warm welcome to everyone who has recently joined Monash Health! If you are a new starter, have a quick look at our summary of what the library can do for you, including literature searches and article requests. Make sure that you have set up essential clinical decision support apps and know how to access to full-text journal articles.

New Books

Our collection is always evolving. See a full list of our new books here.

Cloherty and Stark's manual of neonatal care
Written in an easy-access outline format, this extensively revised edition covers current, practical approaches to the evaluation and management of routine and complex conditions encountered in the foetus and the newborn.
Humanising Mental Health Care in Australia
Provides guidance on a wide range of individual and organisational treatment approaches, and valuable insights for clinicians working with special populations including indigenous communities and abused children.
Mindset: Changing the way you think to fulfil your potential
World-renowned Stanford University psychologist Carol Dweck explains why it's not just our abilities and talent that bring us success – but whether we approach them with a fixed or growth mindset.
Rising strong
Movingly and compassionately, Matt writes about the cases and the people that have stayed with him, both the recoveries and the losses. This book shows the fragility of life, but also the incredible resilience of the human body and spirit.

Library Favourites

We have expanded our great collection of journals with two new nephrology titles: Clinical Journal of the American Society of Nephrology and Journal of the American Society of Nephrology. Contact us to organise a short demonstration at your next team meeting on how to access journals and set up electronic resources.

The Library website has a fresh new look thanks to your valuable feedback in the Library Survey last year. Updates include streamlined content, such as a cleaner homepage, to make it easier to find what you need. We are always working to enhance our website – let the Library team know if you have any suggestions or email Cass Gorton directly.

New to UpToDate: while viewing a topic, click the Graphics tab to open the graphics gallery. There, graphics are arranged under e.g. algorithms, tables, or figures, allowing you to quickly scan for the information you need.

Just Published

Below is a selection of recently published or updated reports from the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW).

Australian Burden of Disease Study 2022 (New)
Long COVID in Australia – a review of the literature (New)
Health of veterans (New)
Cancer screening programs: quarterly data (updated)
Alcohol, tobacco & other drugs in Australia (updated)
Australia’s mothers and babies (updated)
Congenital anomalies 2016 (updated)
Australia’s hospitals at a glance (updated for 2022)

View all latest releases from the AIHW here.

Insights from Library Journals

Explore our range of journals on BrowZine.

This systematic review and meta-analysis found that preoperative treatment with a GnRH agonist and danazol were both effective in reducing fluid absorption and operative time across multiple hysteroscopic procedures.
Within 10 years of their first hospital diagnosis of a psychiatric disorder, 46.9% of Danish patients had received at least one subsequent diagnosis that differed from the first. Diagnostic variability was higher for some disorders.
Observations of routine physiotherapy sessions in stroke rehabilitation revealed opportunities to more consistently apply motor learning principles, and to better adapt the session and coaching language to support learning.
Catch up on recent highlights from Circulation journals, including a study that used data-driven analysis to develop criteria for identifying patients requiring permanent pacemaker placement after congenital heart surgery.
Through interventions such as a new clinical care pathway and staff education, a team at the Boston Children’s Hospital significantly improved the timing of enteral feeds in paediatric patients with acute pancreatitis.

Insights from the MHRR

Congratulations are in order for several distinguished members of the Monash Health research community! Prof Krishna Vaddadi was recognised for 26 years of service on the Human Ethics Research Committee – view a sample of his psychiatry research here. Prof Steve Nicholls received a prestigious prize from the European Atherosclerosis Society – see his MHRR Researcher Profile. And Dr Simon Joosten won the Henry Burger Prize for Clinical Research for his research impact last year -- browse his publications in the MHRR.

Selected recent submissions to the MHRR (click on the DOI to check for full-text):

Australian fertility preservation guidelines for people with cancer 2022: review and recommendations -- R. Upreti (Endocrinology)
Effect of Early High-Flow Nasal Oxygen vs Standard Oxygen Therapy on Length of Hospital Stay in Hospitalized Children With Acute Hypoxemic Respiratory Failure: The PARIS-2 Randomized Clinical Trial -- S. Craig (Emergency Department)
Changes in needle and syringe presentations point to the successes of Australian harm reduction policy and practice -- D. Jacka (Addiction Medicine)
The Use of Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation for Burns: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis -- S. Mitra (Intensive Care)

The MHRR has to be seen to be believed – book a 5-minute lightning demo for your next team meeting by emailing library@monashhealth.org.

Upcoming Webinars

Can’t find a time that suits? Email library@monashhealth.org to book a custom training session for your team.

JMO Survival: Getting answers quickly using ClinicalKey
5:00pm - 5:20pm Tuesday, January 31, 2023
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database – Search Training
2:30pm - 3:00pm Tuesday, February 7, 2023
Making the most of online resources and the Library
2:00pm - 2:20pm Wednesday, February 8, 2023
Critical Appraisal of Medical Literature - Workshop
2:00pm - 3:30pm Thursday, February 9, 2023
UpToDate Information Session
4:30pm - 5:00pm Thursday, February 9, 2023
Advanced Literature Searching
11:00am - 12:00pm Wednesday, February 15, 2023
Visual Design for Beginners
3:00pm - 4:00pm Thursday, February 16, 2023
EndNote: Demo and Q&A
2:30pm - 3:10pm Wednesday, February 22, 2023

Welcome to the January 2023 Monash Health Library newsletter: news and insights from our collection once a month. To subscribe or un-subscribe, email library@monashhealth.org.