Clinical Guides: Monash Health Library Newsletter: March 2024

Library News

Special event: AI-powered literature searching webinar
Join us for AI-Powered Literature Searching: Top 3 Tools for 2024, a special event webinar demonstrating how three cutting-edge tools can enhance your literature search. Register now for this 30-minute session on Tuesday, 30^th April from 12:30pm - 1pm.

NEW! Conference poster templates
The Research Toolkit now includes templates for conference posters! These editable PowerPoint templates are available in different layouts and colours. See also our PDF guide to Creating Conference Posters, or attend our next online workshop on 29^th May.

NEW! Reference managers matrix
Unsure which reference manager to use? Our new 1-page matrix, Which reference manager is right for you?, compares the features and functionalities of common reference management systems such as EndNote and Mendeley. Related: Referencing Guide.

Spotlight on Databases webinar series
Spotlight on UpToDate is our third instalment in this series. Discover how to get the most out of UpToDate, including how it can fit into your research and easy ways to access it in the EMR. Register to attend the 30-minute webinar on Tuesday, 23^rd April at 3pm.

New Books

Our collection is always evolving. See a full list of our new books here.

Comprehensive gynecology, 8th Ed.
Covering all key issues in gynaecology, now fully updated to include new information on topics such as laparoscopy and innovations in robotic surgery, reversible contraception, and advancements in treating endometriosis.
Core Curriculum for Maternal-Newborn Nursing
Concisely outlines concepts such as reproduction, foetal development, normal pregnancy, intrapartum and postpartum periods, complications, and ethical issues, with a fresh focus on patient safety.
The neuroscientist who lost her mind: A memoir of madness and recovery
Analysing the science of the mind and the biology of the brain alongisde Dr Lipska's own extraordinary story, this is a fascinating account of what happens when the brain goes awry.
Hanging out: The radical power of killing time
Starting with the assumption that play is to children as hanging out is to adult, the author makes a case for the necessity of unstructured social time as a key element of our cultural vitality.

Library Favourites

eMIMS replacing MIMS
MIMS Online is being replaced by an upgraded resource, eMIMS Elite. eMIMS Elite is faster and more user-friendly, with a standardised format for efficient access to the information you need. From 1^st June onwards, MIMS Online will no longer be available. See our eMIMS Elite User Guide for more details.

Access app introduces text-to-speech
Learn on the go: the Access app by McGraw Hill has added text-to-speech capabilities that lets you listen to content online or offline. Monash Health employees can download the Access app, connect to our institutional subscription, and then view content from AccessMedicine, AccessEmergency, AccessObGyn, and AccessPaediatrics.

NEW! Australasian Psychiatry and The Lowitja Journal
You can now access complete issues of Australasian Psychiatry via BrowZine, our mobile and desktop app for browsing and reading full-text journals (see our User Guide). The official journal of the Lowitja Institute, First Nations Health and Wellbeing - The Lowitja Journal, has also been published as open access.

Just Published

Below is a selection of recent additions to the International Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Database.

Green theatres – Scottish Health Technologies Group
Digital cancer prehabilitation – Scottish Health Technologies Group
Digital tools for the monitoring and management of wounds — Health Technology Wales
Clinical and instrumental swallowing assessments for dysphagia — Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health
Software with artificial intelligence-derived algorithms for analysing CT brain scans in people with a suspected acute stroke: a systematic review and cost-effectiveness analysis — National Institute for Health and Care Research (NIHR) (UK)
Practices of falls risk assessment and prevention in acute hospital settings: a realist investigation — NIHR (UK)
Cochlear implants for children with single-sided deafness — Agency for Care Effectiveness (Singapore)

Insights from Library Journals

Read our full-text journals in BrowZine.

A much-publicised systematic review and network meta-analysis on the effect on exercise for depression found that walking, jogging, yoga, and strength training were particularly effective, especially when intense.
For those working in obstetrics and gynaecology, the most effective strategies for mitigating the environmental footprint of clinical practice are replacing disposable materials with reusable ones and minimising the content of surgical custom packs.
In a postoperative unit/ICU, a Nursing Activities Score which measured nursing workload on one shift was able to predict workload in the next shift. The Norwegian study found that the accuracy increased when the number of patients was factored in.
Pregnant women with Borderline Personality Disorder require enhanced multidisciplinary care to manage enhanced risk of complications such as pre-eclampsia and higher rates of psychiatric admission, according to a Western Australian study.
The latest issue of Clinics in Geriatric Medicine focuses on healthcare for aging LGBTQIA+ adults, covering topics such as mental health, post-acute and long-term care, medical issues, and affirming care. Related: LGBTQI+ Health Resource Guide.

Insights from the MHRR

The Monash Health Research Repository (MHRR) is not just journal articles! The MHRR collects and showcases a wide range of research outputs produced by Monash Health employees and researchers, including conference abstracts, papers, and posters; theses and dissertations; and books and books chapters.

Tip: Submitting your conference poster or abstract to the MHRR will give you a stable link for sharing your work with others.

For Endometriosis Awareness Month, our libraries promoted clinical resources for obstetrics and gynaecology. Searching the MHRR for "endometriosis" will show you relevant publications by researchers at Monash Health, including papers from the Obstetrics & Gynaecology team.

Selection of publications recently added to the MHRR (click on the DOI to check for full-text):

Implementation of a nurse-led, multidisciplinary model of care for older adults with cancer: a process evaluation protocol — J. Rodrigues & S. Arulananda (Medical Oncology)
Evaluation of a novel home-based laparoscopic and core surgical skills programme (Monash Online Surgical Training) – S. Leng, N. Chaudhry, M. Pacilli, & R. M. Nataraja (Paediatric General Surgery)
Implementing Tap-to-Witness Technology in the Electronic Medical Record — R. M. Jedwab, A. Pham, J. Gogler, J-N Garduce, J. Foster, R. Brook, & N. Dobroff (Nursing and Midwifery Informatics)
Barriers to advancing women nurses in healthcare leadership: a systematic review and meta-synthesis – M. S. D. S. Pincha Baduge (Intensive Care); H. J. Teede (Endocrinology and Diabetes)

The MHRR has to be seen to be believed – book a 5-minute lightning demo for your next team meeting by emailing library@monashhealth.org.

Upcoming Webinars

Health Literacy 101 workshop for Monash Health employees – 23^rd April, 10am - 12:30pm
This online workshop offers an introduction to health literacy basics. It will benefit anyone who is involved in communicating health messages, whether it’s training frontline staff in communicating effectively with patients, families and carers or building your team’s capacity to create easy read, plain language materials and resources. Numbers are limited – please register your interest on Latte by Friday, 19^th April. For further information contact Diane Lattin (Health Literacy Coordinator).

Library webinars
Can’t find a time that suits? Email library@monashhealth.org to book a custom training session for your team.