Clinical Guides: Monash Health Library Newsletter: October 2020

Welcome to the October 2020 Monash Health Library newsletter: news and insights from our collection once a month. To subscribe or un-subscribe, email library@monashhealth.org.

A new library guide is available for quick access to exam preparation resources, revision handbooks and study guides. Resources are grouped for medical trainees, surgical specialties, anaesthetists, nursing specialists, psychiatrists and pharmacists.

The Paediatric Injectable Guidelines are now available from our Paediatrics library guide and electronic resources page. These guidelines are maintained by the Royal Children’s Hospital and nationally recognised for safely administering injectable medicines in children.

Stockley’s Drug Interactions Checker and two more pharmacology resources - Martidale’s Adverse Drug Reactions Checker and Palliative Care Formulary - have been made available from the Medicines Complete platform. Access from our pharmacology guide or electronic resources page.

A dedicated resource guide is now available for employees working in Community Centres, providing a starting point for research and resources on community health. It covers support services, healthy communities, multicultural communication, maternal and child health and mental disorder manuals.

Extensive COVID-19 Paediatric resources are available in Elsevier's Covid-19 Healthcare hub. Monash Health employees have access to further medical, nursing and allied health collections in Clinical Key and Clinical Key for Nursing (contact us for an overview). COVID-19 guidance for paediatrics has also been added to leading textbook Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Pediatrics. See Ch 40 - Infections: Viral and Rickettsial - Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome.

Episode 11 from the NPS Medicine Wise podcast considers Choosing Wisely principles and the importance of conversations about what care is necessary, in light of Coronavirus.

Selected COVID-19 articles:

New research from Annuals of Internal Medicine finds that high BMI, independent of other obesity co-morbidities, is a large risk factor associated with mortality in Covid19 patients.
A research letter in JAMA shares promising results from an early, retrospective report on 40 patients with COVID-19 who were supported with ECMO when they were in severe respiratory failure.
How to best manage the respiratory follow-up of Covid-19 pneumonia patients? See Respiratory follow up of patients with COVID-19 pneumonia from Thorax Journal for structured clinical guidance to mitigate long-term complications.
The potential role of procyanidin as a therapeutic agent against SARS-CoV-2 provides results from text mining of a COVID-19 data set to examine changes induced by procyanidin and understand the activity of important COVID-19 proteins.

New book chapters:

AccessMedicine eBook Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology: A Guide to Clinical Infectious Diseases has new coverage of Coronavirus under chapters on Respiratory Viruses (ch.38) and Viral Vaccines (ch.36).
Two new chapters in Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine provide updated guidance - "Intubation Oxygenation, Ventilation, and Intubation in the Patient with COVID-19" (ch.29A) and "Serious Viral Infections - COVID-19" (ch.154).
Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine contains new content about Lopinavir-Ritonavir, management of patients and effective therapies that are beginning to emerge. Also see updates under 'Features' on the left hand side of the eBook screen.

The Australian government's new National Digital Health Workforce and Education Roadmap contains a framework for developing digital health capabilities and education for all health care workers, to help ensure we realise the benefits of new technologies.

Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic reviews and Meta-Analyses PRISMA 2020 Statement is available as a preprint. The new version includes an expanded checklist, method improvements and revised flow diagrams.

How has COVID-19 affected the mental health of individuals with a mood-disorder? Read initial results from the COLLATE project - COvid-19 and you: mental heaLth in AusTralia now survey project, an Australian national survey launched on April 1st 2020.

Stress and burnout are common in critical care nurses. A recent study suggests that wellbeing programs on creating and maintaining positive emotions, rather than focusing on reducing negative emotions, may prove more effective in developing coping strategies.
The mass production of redundant, misleading and conflicted systematic reviews and meta-analyses investigates the rise in increases in systematic reviews and questions regarding quality.
American Informatics Medical Association paper Applying Blockchain Technology to Enhance Clinical Trial Recruitment looks at the use of this cutting edge technology for meeting challenges in the recruitment of patients to clinical trials.
A perspective on communication in the frontline clinical environment from the Chest journal What counts as "good" clinical communication in the COVID era and beyond? advocates for compassionate communication and suggests a framework based around goals, not checklists.
An opinion piece from the Annals of Internal Medicine on clinical communication skills during COVID-19 recognises that health professionals are "confronted with new communication tasks that none of us have faced before". The authors step through 3 core communication principles, tips and examples.

The clinical diagnosis and treatment for new coronavirus pneumonia by Fanjun Cheng (Editor), Yu Zhang (Editor), 2020.

A practical manual from Tongji medical college in Wuhan, China on clinical practice guidance and the deployment of medical resources.

Covid-19 airway management and ventilation strategy for critically ill older patients by Nicola Vargas (Editor), Antonio M Esquinas (Editor), 2020.

Describes the issues and challenges in the management of older critically ill patients during the Covid-19 pandemic, and offers practical information on how to manage them.

Highlighting one of our most popular resources - the Journal of Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition, peer reviewed with a focus on childhood nutrition, normal and abnormal function of the alimentary tract and related organs and body systems. Follow in BrowZine or Read by QxMD.

Mental Health Week occurs annually in October to raise awareness about mental health conditions and promote wellbeing while working to reduce stigma. For related resources, visit our mental health library guide which includes recommended databases, books, journals and diagnostic manuals. October also marks Breast Cancer Awareness month. A recommended eBook on this topic is The Breast: Comprehensive Management of Benign and Malignant Diseases. The latest 5th edition is now in one volume and covers innovations in breast cancer detection and treatment.