Clinical Guides: Monash Health Library Newsletter: July 2023

Library News

Deciding where to publish: Metrics, open access, & predatory publishing runs on Thursday 24th August, part two of our special webinar series on research impact and publishing. Register to attend live or receive a link to the recording. If you missed the first webinar – Research impact in 30 mins: Online profiles, metrics, & tracking tools – watch the recording on LATTE.

The new Pain Medicine resource guide provides easy access to key pain medicine journals, databases, eBooks, online learning modules and more. It is the latest addition to our ever-evolving collection of Clinical Resource Guides, covering dozens of clinical specialties plus interdisciplinary topics such as Cognitive Bias, Indigenous Health, and Quality Improvement.

Need a quick guide to copyright or accessing full-text journal articles? Get your own hard copies of our most essential one-page guidance from the brochure holders at any an onsite library – MMC, Dandenong, Casey, Moorabbin.

New Books

Our collection is always evolving. See a full list of our new books here.

Rosen's emergency medicine: Concepts and clinical practice, 10th Ed.
The latest, fully revised edition has updated information across the spectrum of emergency care. Features more than 350 new figures and 8 new chapters on topics including social determinants of health, sexual minority patients, morbidly obese patients, and community violence.
Clinical nursing skills & techniques, 10th Ed.
This widely respected text provides a nursing process framework, step-by-step instructions with rationales, and a focus on critical thinking and evidence-based practice. Includes new coverage of patient-centred care and an expanded clinical focus with specialised clinical debriefs, teach-back, and sample documentation throughout.
The human contribution: Unsafe acts, accidents and heroic recoveries
Rather than viewing humans as hazards, this book explores the human contribution to both the reliability and resilience of complex well-defended systems. Its emphasis on healthcare reflects the author's focus on patient safety.
Daughters of Durga: Dowries, gender violence and family in Australia
An incisive investigation of domestic violence in South Asian communities, and the resilience of women in the face of adversity. Written by clinical psychiatrist Prof Manjula Datta O'Connor, Chair of the Royal Australian New Zealand College of Psychiatrists Family Violence Psychiatry Network.

Library Favourites

Psychosis: Understanding and working with psychotic symptoms is a new online learning unit in Nursing Times, available to all Monash Health employees. To access the CPD Zone, create a Nursing Times account with your Monash Health email address.

Virtual care devices can be borrowed from MMC and Casey libraries, simply book a Surface Go or a laptop. Rushing to a last-minute online meeting? Stop by the library front desk – we can set you up with an available device and submit the booking for you.

UpToDate tip: If you access UpToDate via the EMR, remember to log in to your personal UpToDate account. Do this once, and UpToDate will recognise you the next time you access it via the EMR. Regularly accessing UpToDate via the EMR will also automatically renew your remote access.

Just Published

Below is a selection of recently published clinical practice guidelines available via the Trip Database.

Pharmacological management of migraine – Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network
Palliative nuclear medicine therapies of bone metastases – Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging/European Association of Nuclear Medicine
Management of patients with acute lower gastrointestinal bleeding – American College of Gastroenterology
Provision of anaesthesia services for the perioperative care of elective and urgent care patients – Royal College of Anaesthetists (UK)
Management of cystic renal lesions – Canadian Urological Association
Diagnosing and monitoring paediatric sleep-disordered breathing – British Thoracic Society
Remission of Type 2 diabetes – Diabetes Canada

Insights from Library Journals

Read our full-text journals in BrowZine.

A randomised clinical trial on donanemab in early symptomatic Alzheimer Disease found the drug significantly slowed clinical progression (visual abstract). Click through to the editorial comments addressing lack of diversity, harm, and affordability.
Globally, the incidence of non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) increased more than 3-fold between 2000 and 2015, according to a systematic review and meta-analysis. The pooled incidence of NAFLD was 46.13 per 1,000 person-years.
Combining endovenous ablation with compression is more effective than compression alone in healing venous leg ulcers. The updated Cochrane review also found evidence to suggest that this approach may be cost-effective at one year.
Using data available at the time of PICU discharge, a machine learning model predicted poor school performance (NAPLAN results). The authors of this Queensland study note that the model could inform the design of early rehabilitative measures.
A recent episode of Four Corners, focusing on youth gender care, referenced research from The Children’s Hospital at Westmead – you can find the 2023 paper here and the 2021 article here. If you see a piece of research mentioned in the news, contact the Library team for help with hunting down the original papers.

Insights from the MHRR

Congratulations to the Nephrology Department on celebrating 51 years! Prolific in research, the Nephrology team has almost 400 research outputs already in the MHRR.

Monash Health researchers have published papers in a wide range of Australian and international peer-reviewed journals. If you are hoping to publish your own work, you can see what other Monash Health staff have recently published in your target journals.

Selected recent submissions to the MHRR (click on the DOI to check for full-text):