Showcase your research skills with a certificate of achievement
A certificate of achievement is now available when you attend core library training such as literature searching and special topics which have included AI search tools and how to write a manuscript.
Congratulations to emergency medicine pharmacist Kai Ying Lim, the first to be awarded the certificate.
If you have previously attended training, apply for a certificate of achievement in research skills now.
Mental health resources & training
Access to diagnostic manuals for mental health including the DSM-5-TR are available to Monash Health employees in the Psychiatry Online Premium database. Access by navigating to our A-Z database lists or browsing library resource guides for Mental Health, Psychiatry and Psychology. These guides also compile the latest ebooks and journals such as the American Journal of Psychiatry.
Join us next month for a special webinar on how to access and search for high quality mental health information. Register now for the live event on Thursday 27 March or to receive the recording. We will delve into Psychiatry Online, Neurobite and PsycINFO.
Library lovers day
In February we celebrated Library Lovers Day with chocolate roses and lots of love in our library spaces and on our social media. Thank you for the wonderful stories from our library lovers...
“Regardless of which site I am visiting, I know I can always find a warm and welcoming environment in the library.”
“They create an environment where asking questions is okay, empowering our clinicians to grow their skills and learn to love research.”
“The library has been an invaluable cornerstone in supporting professional development and research capabilities”
We look forward to working with you all in 2025.
Monash Health’s next Nursing and Midwifery Research Showcase.
Registrations are now open for the Nursing and Midwifery Research Showcase at Monash Medical Centre, in Lecture Theatre 3, from 2 – 3 pm on 5 March. This is a great opportunity for all employees to hear about research being undertaken by Nursing and Midwifery colleagues, and how their findings are having a real-life impact on clinical practice. Afternoon tea will be provided.
Register here to take part in person or receive a link to join remotely.
Upcoming Research Skills Training
EndNote & reference management
2:00pm - 2:40pm, Wed Mar 5th 2025
How to evaluate a research paper
1:00pm - 1:50pm, Thu Mar 6th 2025
Accessing resources through the library
3:30pm - 3:50pm, Thu Mar 6th 2025
Introductory Canva workshop
1:00pm - 2:00pm, Tue Mar 11th 2025
Advanced Canva workshop
2:00pm - 3:00pm, Tue Mar 18th 2025
How to publish Open Access at Monash Health
1:00pm - 1:30pm, Wed Mar 19th 2025
Literature searching for research and clinical practice
12:30pm – 1:30pm, Thurs Mar 20th 2025
Spotlight on Mental Health Databases
2:00pm – 2:30pm, Thurs Mar 27th 2025
Can’t find a time that suits? Email library@monashhealth.org to book a custom training session for your team.
Our collection is always evolving. See a full list of our new books here.
On call
Book series
Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this popular reference series covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call in the hospital. Access the principles and protocols for your specialty such as paediatrics, surgery, psychiatry and emergency through our catalogue.
Australian medicines handbook
The First 90 Days, Updated and Expanded
Clinical Examination Essentials : an introduction to clinical skills (and how to pass your clinical exams)
Below is a selection of recent additions to the International Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Database - a freely available database of investigations into health technologies undertaken by health researchers or health organisations.
Public and patient involvement (PPI) in the design, execution and dissemination of a trial: the BISTRO trial -- NIHR [UK]
Multi-cancer early detection tests for general population screening: a systematic literature review -- NIHR [UK]
Health technology assessment (HTA) of teledermatology for triage of primary care referrals -- HIQA [Ireland]
Stepping into day treatment approach versus inpatient treatment for adults with anorexia nervosa: the DAISIES RCT -- NIHR [UK]
A systematic review of the cost-effectiveness of anti-VEGF drugs for the treatment of diabetic retinopathy -- NIHR [UK]
Assessment of barriers to fair access -- ICER [USA]
If you are considering a new health technology, you may request a literature review report from the library. Receive a curated report on the best available evidence based on a systematic search of multiple databases and grey literature by a librarian.
Selected articles from this month's featured journals. View all journals in BrowZine.
Nursing Times - Systems of life
You may have already signed up for Nursing Times email alerts, but have you tried the online training courses? The Systems of Life series for example, provides education on anatomy and physiology for nurses. For more information or set up instructions visit the Nursing Times User Guide.
Nursing Times provides nurses with resources that support clinical excellence and National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards requirements.
Uniform recycling
The Monash Health uniform recycling initiative has diverted over 600 kilograms of clothes from landfill in the last 6 months, preventing over 2 thousand kilograms of greenhouse gases. A big thank you to everyone who has visited one of our libraries to recycle uniforms. You have contributed to this wonderful outcome for sustainability.
Uniform recycling bins are available in the libraries at Clayton, Casey, Dandenong and Moorabbin hospitals, the mailroom in Kingston and the level 1 tearoom at VHH.
Systematic review support
This month, Monash Health librarians completed the JBI systematic review training program, supporting the work we do in review teams to develop robust search strategies, manage references and provide online support direct to Covidence workspaces. The highest level of support is co-authorship.
Open the online form to learn more about the library's research support services or to submit a request.
In celebration of Heart Research Month, we are highlighting the work of cardiology researchers at Monash Heart. Find the latest research published by Prof. Stephan Nicholls, Prof. Derek Chew and Dr. Adam Brown below or visit the MHRR to explore more research.
Are you an emerging cardiac researcher at Monash Health? Create your MHRR Researcher Profile today and submit your research.
Selection of publications recently added to the MHRR (click on the DOI to check for full-text):
Integration of apolipoprotein b into the SCORE2 framework: implications for cardiovascular risk prediction. - S. Nicholls & D. Chew (Monash Heart)
Low-level elevations in high-sensitivity cardiac troponin predict obstructive coronary artery disease and revascularisation in rural patients with non-ST-elevation myocardial infarction referred for coronary angiography. - D. Chew (Monash Heart)
Human-centred AI for emergency cardiac care: evaluating RAPIDx AI with PROLIFERATE_AI. - D. Chew (Monash Heart)
Assessing the likelihood of procedural intubation during percutaneous coronary intervention. - A. Brown & D. Chew (Monash Heart)
The MHRR has to be seen to be believed – book a 5-minute lightning demo for your next team meeting by emailing library@monashhealth.org.
Why we remember: the science of memory and how it shapes us
Why we remember unveils the principles behind what and why we forget and shines a light on the silent, pervasive influence of memory on how we learn, heal and make decisions.
The BMJ Wellbeing online training course provides insight and strategies to help address some of the more challenging aspects of delivering health care from managing workloads, to handling pressure and building personal strength and resilience.
Visit BMJ Learning for online courses on:
All Monash Health employees can sign up for full access to BMJ Learning.
